The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2001, 10:03pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,801
This situation has come up several times on this board, and here is my paraphrase of what the consensus has been in other cases.

A1 is not shooting a try, since (by rule) a try can only be at one's own basket.

Because A1 is not shooting a try, continuous motion does not apply, and this is not a "shooting foul."

Therefore, the ball becomes dead on the whistle, and the basket does not count. If A is in the bonus, A1 will shoot FT's (at his own basket) for the common foul - otherwise A gets the spot throw-in under the basket (okay, not right under, but you know what I mean).

B1, of course, gets chewed out by the coach.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:50pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1