The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Oo-oo-oo-oo, I LOVE This Board! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/13580-oo-oo-oo-oo-i-love-board.html)

bossref Mon May 10, 2004 07:26am

re-establishing position
 
This is one of the 25 rules that I have listed
on a one page handout entitled: MOST MISUNDERSTOOD RULES.

The simplified verbiage used amongst BOSS Officials
(in San Diego) when discussing coming back inbounds
after saving a loose ball is that the player trying
to reestablish position back in bounds, must have
SOMETHING IN & NOTHING OUT .

Perhaps your rules committee can construct a handout
given to officials before each season, covering a top ten
list(or 20 most commonly)of rules that are misunderstood
by refs or players.

Ours covers things like:
retrieving an "airball"
sliding on floor to recover a loose ball
movement allowed on throwin
blind screens
etc

You can email me and I will forward a copy directly.

Barry Alman
[email protected]
http://www.sdboss.com


ChuckElias Mon May 10, 2004 08:34am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
If NO part of you is touching OOB, you are in-bounds. It's that simple.
Really? :confused:

Jurassic Referee Mon May 10, 2004 09:20am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
If NO part of you is touching OOB, you are in-bounds. It's that simple.
Really? :confused:

And, in his original post, the poor, misunderstood JR also added an addendum that an airborne player is covered differently under R4-35-3. I probably should have more precise, but I must admit that I am certainly not the cunning linguist that you are.

Mregor Tue May 11, 2004 01:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
The situation is where a player is chasing a loose ball, tips the ball so it stays in-bounds. The player lands oob, then steps back in bounds and is the first to touch the ball. I hope you-all agree that it's legal.

The player can recover, but how they recover it determines what they can do with it next. If they recover with both hands, they can only pass or shoot since saving the ball is part of the dribble and recovering it with both hands ends the dribble. The CB addresses it, but I don't have it handy.

Mregor

Mregor Tue May 11, 2004 01:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
I think your fellow official have either been working football too much or watching it. ;)

Peace

First off, that is impossible. :D Secondly, that would only apply to football on Sunday, Monday night, an occasional Thrusday or Saturday.

Mregor

JRutledge Tue May 11, 2004 01:52pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mregor
Quote:

Originally posted by JRutledge
I think your fellow official have either been working football too much or watching it. ;)

Peace

First off, that is impossible. :D

Sorry, I misspoke. :D

Quote:

Originally posted by Mregor
Secondly, that would only apply to football on Sunday, Monday night, an occasional Thrusday or Saturday.

Mregor

But the games on Friday, you cannot just go out of bounds and just come back in and be the first to touch the ball. Now you might not be out of bounds, but there can be penalties that apply.

It is too early for this discussion. I need baseball to end, then I can talk football rules. ;)

Peace


Camron Rust Tue May 11, 2004 03:53pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mregor
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
The situation is where a player is chasing a loose ball, tips the ball so it stays in-bounds. The player lands oob, then steps back in bounds and is the first to touch the ball. I hope you-all agree that it's legal.

The player can recover, but how they recover it determines what they can do with it next. If they recover with both hands, they can only pass or shoot since saving the ball is part of the dribble and recovering it with both hands ends the dribble. The CB addresses it, but I don't have it handy.

Mregor

I disagree. How they recover only matters IF they were dribbling prior to the save. Tipping the ball back towards inbounds is just a tip or a bat of a loose ball, not a dribble. If they had a dribble before the save, then a two hand recovery would end that dribble and would not allow a new dribble.

tomegun Tue May 11, 2004 09:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by Mregor
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
The situation is where a player is chasing a loose ball, tips the ball so it stays in-bounds. The player lands oob, then steps back in bounds and is the first to touch the ball. I hope you-all agree that it's legal.

The player can recover, but how they recover it determines what they can do with it next. If they recover with both hands, they can only pass or shoot since saving the ball is part of the dribble and recovering it with both hands ends the dribble. The CB addresses it, but I don't have it handy.

Mregor

I disagree. How they recover only matters IF they were dribbling prior to the save. Tipping the ball back towards inbounds is just a tip or a bat of a loose ball, not a dribble. If they had a dribble before the save, then a two hand recovery would end that dribble and would not allow a new dribble.

Is it late or did you just disagree with the same thing you said?
I wish I could stay up to see the Lake Squad. Two more seasons and I have to go back to the west coast.

Mregor Wed May 12, 2004 07:57am

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by Mregor
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
The situation is where a player is chasing a loose ball, tips the ball so it stays in-bounds. The player lands oob, then steps back in bounds and is the first to touch the ball. I hope you-all agree that it's legal.

The player can recover, but how they recover it determines what they can do with it next. If they recover with both hands, they can only pass or shoot since saving the ball is part of the dribble and recovering it with both hands ends the dribble. The CB addresses it, but I don't have it handy.

Mregor

I disagree. How they recover only matters IF they were dribbling prior to the save. Tipping the ball back towards inbounds is just a tip or a bat of a loose ball, not a dribble. If they had a dribble before the save, then a two hand recovery would end that dribble and would not allow a new dribble.

There is a CB play on this. I agree that a tip or a batted ball is not part of the dribble, but if the player controls the ball and throws it back in bounds, that is considered the start of the dribble. I don't have the CB handy, but its in either rule 4 or 7.

Mregor

Adam Wed May 12, 2004 08:55am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mregor
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
Quote:

Originally posted by Mregor
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
The situation is where a player is chasing a loose ball, tips the ball so it stays in-bounds. The player lands oob, then steps back in bounds and is the first to touch the ball. I hope you-all agree that it's legal.

The player can recover, but how they recover it determines what they can do with it next. If they recover with both hands, they can only pass or shoot since saving the ball is part of the dribble and recovering it with both hands ends the dribble. The CB addresses it, but I don't have it handy.

Mregor

I disagree. How they recover only matters IF they were dribbling prior to the save. Tipping the ball back towards inbounds is just a tip or a bat of a loose ball, not a dribble. If they had a dribble before the save, then a two hand recovery would end that dribble and would not allow a new dribble.

There is a CB play on this. I agree that a tip or a batted ball is not part of the dribble, but if the player controls the ball and throws it back in bounds, that is considered the start of the dribble. I don't have the CB handy, but its in either rule 4 or 7.

Mregor

Mregor, the play described above says the ball is "tipped," not controlled and thrown in bounds.

rainmaker Wed May 12, 2004 10:44am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mregor
There is a CB play on this. I agree that a tip or a batted ball is not part of the dribble, but if the player controls the ball and throws it back in bounds, that is considered the start of the dribble. I don't have the CB handy, but its in either rule 4 or 7.
Even if it's completely controlled with two hands, as long as the player stays in the air while holding the ball (as I'm assuming she would or there would be an oob call), she can recover it with one hand and keep dribbling, after establishing herself inbounds. Or with two hands if she then stops and passes or shoots. It's not a double dribble until after she's touched it with both hands twice.

Nu1 Wed May 12, 2004 07:35pm

NFHS Case Book, under Rule 7;
If A1 tips a ball before going OOB, he/she can return inbounds, secure the ball AND dribble.

If A1 controls the ball before going OOB (i.e. grabs it and throws it inbounds before falling OOB), he/she can return inbounds and secure the ball BUT CANNOT dribble.

(I don't have my case book with me right now, but I believe the case also allows for a player to control the ball - "save it" - go OOB - and then return and continue a dribble as long as they don't pick it up.)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1