The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2001, 03:29pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Post print this reply and give it to every coach you see

Quote:
Originally posted by TKATNL
Hello everyone after a couple days as a guest I have joined the forum. What a great web site, I have learned alot in the past day or so. I am a new basketball ref. I'm doing 5,6,7,8 grade "classic" ball, it is taken very seriously. My question is on an over the back foul on a rebound. If player A1 is in position to rebound and B1 jumps up and gets the rebound over the top without contact should there be a call ? Or should an over the back call be made only when there is contact. B1 was a taller player than A1, the coach kept asking for over the back. Any clarification would be great.
As everyone on this board would tell you - THERE IS NO SUCH FOUL AS "OVER THE BACK"!!!!!!!

If A1 has good position and B1 is standing behind him and then B1 reaches over A1 to get a rebound, there is no foul. To have a foul, there must be enough contact by B1 to displace A1 and the amount of contact must be at least equal to the amount of contact you are calling as a foul everywhere else in that game.

If there is a foul in that situation, it's a push.

And - while we're on the subject - THERE IS NO SUCH FOUL AS A "REACH", EITHER!!!!!!!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1