The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 03, 2001, 10:15am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Greater Indianapolis Area
Posts: 436
Send a message via Yahoo to Indy_Ref
Thumbs up A voice of reason?

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Brian Watson
[B]I think we are confusing two different situations and their penalties.

When is there an illegal sub? When you don't report or if you come in before we beckon. I will split hairs and consider the following to really be an illegal sub: If you are already DQ'd, change numbers (except when there is a blood or damage issue), or wear an illegal uniform (number, colors, design etc.). In two of these cases you issue a T to the player when they occur, if you snooze you lose the T when the ball becomes live (for all the nit pickers, yes, you give the t when discovered and the head coach would get an indirect if the DQ'd player came back in). You can issue as many of these T's as the coach is dumb enough to allow .

Now, a team is assessed one T for the whole game if they change a starter w/o just cause (injury, illness, etc), add a name(s) to the book, change the player number in the book, change the player uni to match the book, or have identical numbers in the book. There is no live ball restriction to this rule, it is assessed when it occurs or is discovered.

In the situation listed earlier if two new players come in a different times, there would be only one T total. This would be for adding players to the book after the 10 minute mark.


On a whole different tangent these rules do become intertwined and a problem in regard to player numbers. If A comes in wearing 3 and he should have been 1, and the coach tells us his lineup was wrong change the book we will hit the player with a T (10-3-1) and the team with a T (10-2-2-c). If later on another player comes in wearing the wrong number and we have to change the book, we just hit the player because the maximum 1 team T had been assessed.

Or worse, A1 comes in and play starts. During the first dead ball the scorer calls us over and tells us there is no A1 in the book. It is too late to T the player, but we can still hit the team with the T (as long as a team T had not been given earlier for the 10-2-2 rule).

[Edited by Indy_Ref on Jan 4th, 2001 at 11:18 AM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:05am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1