The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Apr 21, 2004, 03:34pm
Adam's Avatar
Keeper of the HAMMER
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: MST
Posts: 27,190
Quote:
Originally posted by rockyroad
It's not a greater punishment...sorry, but it really is that simple. Team A was entitled to that throw-in, and to take that away from them because the other team does something "wrong" is, well, just wrong...that AP throw-in doesn't end until a normal throw-in ends, so if B fouls while the thrower is still holding the ball, the AP throw-in never ended...as far as some of your other points - if A decides to violate or throw a bad pass which is picked off by B, then A caused themselves to lose that throw-in, but you can't take it awqay because B does something against the rules...
I know no one sees it like I do, I just don't necessarily understand why. The throw-in is the reward on the AP, not a "possession." If that throw-in results in a foul on B, then A has received the full benefit of the AP arrow and I see no reason the rules *should* further benefit A by giving them the next arrow as well.
I know what the rules say, I just think it's philosophically wrong in this case. I think it boils down to what we think the result of the AP *should* be. Should it be a possession, or a throw-in? I think it should be a "throw-in," with all results of the throw-in considered as "results of the throw-in."

But, like I said before, I'm not on the rules committee.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:17pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1