The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Apr 19, 2004, 04:25pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 188
Re: Confusion

Quote:
Originally posted by Eric Huechteman
[QUOTE
Here's a question: If a player is running toward the sideline to get to a loose ball, dribbles twice, loses his balance (tapping the ball forward so that it bounces 2 or 3 times), steps out of bounds, comes back inbounds, and continues his dribble, has he committed a violation?

Just after I completed the question, I found the answer. Hehe. Rule 4-15-6d states: "Out-of-bounds violation does not apply on the player invoved in the interrupted dribble."
your sitch here does not fit the definition of an interrupted dribble -- this ball has not "deflected off the dribbler" or "gotten away from the dribbler"; I have an OOB violation when he/she next touches that ball.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:34am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1