The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Wed Mar 24, 2004, 03:47am
Official Forum Member

Hi. I'm interested in starting officiating and really could use some tips on the best way to get started. I have read posts here and noticed a really friendly and supportive community so I decided to suck it up and ask this total newbie question.

I live in Las Vegas. I'm a District Attorney, so I dont mind making tough calls or being yelled at I'm 6'5". I played HS ball in California and played in various city leagues in LA (fairfax high) and Orange County and some here in Vegas. I havent played competitively for two years (since birth of daughter) and I really miss playing. I'm 37 and I dont really want to mix it up with 18 year olds who just want to jack 3s all game so I thought officiating would be fun. I did some "stand in" officiating in various leagues in Vegas when they were down a ref and my team was not playing. I loved it and frankly cant believe I never thought of this sooner. I also like the teaching aspect. I think kids really learn from having rules they have to play by. Maybe that's the DA in me...

So....all that being said...

Where do I start? HS Frosh games? Rec leagues? Are there national associations I need to be a member of? What should I try? What should I stay away from?

I cant seem to find good Nevada info. The southern nevada official's assoc. site seems dead. I saw "Nevadaref" on these boards but couldnt email him directly. Nevadaref, if you are out there and read this you (or anyone else who might want to) can email me directly at [email protected].

Is there a book that is the "bible" of officiating?

The good thing about being a newbie is that I know I know nothing and am happy to take advice and learn from all of you.