The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2000, 10:37am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Game goes into OT.... say 48 to 48 at the end of regulation.

During the OT period (say 2:00 left), it is noticed that there are no 3 point awarded baskets for the B team. However, both officials (or all three) know without a doubt that B did in fact have one 3-pointer, and that it was scored in regulation time.

What do you do?

If team A was winning when the game was stopped to look at the error?

If team B was winning when the game was stopped to look at the error?

..Mike

Just putting this one out there...
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2000, 10:42am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Greater Indianapolis Area
Posts: 436
Send a message via Yahoo to Indy_Ref
Question I believe...

You award the point and continue on with the OT.

That's an answer without looking it up in the book...so I'm sure I'll be corrected if I'm wrong!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2000, 10:46am
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
My friend just e-mailed and he agrees with you.

If I ever had a vote on NF rule changes, I'd work to change this one. Too bad that OT started... team B won the game in regulation.

That's just my opinion.

..Mike
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2000, 10:48am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Greater Indianapolis Area
Posts: 436
Send a message via Yahoo to Indy_Ref
Thumbs up Yes...

Casebook, 2.11.10D!
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2000, 10:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,220
Same situation, except overtime has not started. Team B short 1 point because 3 not credited. Team A had last possession and successfully went for 2 to tie, when they could have gone for a 3 if they knew that they needed it. Do you now award win to B?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2000, 11:02am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Greater Indianapolis Area
Posts: 436
Send a message via Yahoo to Indy_Ref
Again, without finding it in the book first...

Quote:
Originally posted by Hawks Coach
Same situation, except overtime has not started. Team B short 1 point because 3 not credited. Team A had last possession and successfully went for 2 to tie, when they could have gone for a 3 if they knew that they needed it. Do you now award win to B?
I think you have to award the victory to B...and I'm sure that is going to be real popular with the crowd!! Where is security to get me out of here!!!
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2000, 11:29am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
IndyRef is correct. In the coach's situation, since the OT has not begun, B would be awarded the win. But once the OT starts, you have to complete it.

JugglingRef, I believe you become a senior member after 100 posts. Big Woo!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2000, 04:31pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 335
Talking moral of the story is....

always check the scoreboard after a 3 pointer!
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2000, 06:18pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 4,802
Sound like the election recount? (nm)

Quote:
Originally posted by JugglingReferee
My friend just e-mailed and he agrees with you.

If I ever had a vote on NF rule changes, I'd work to change this one. Too bad that OT started... team B won the game in regulation.

That's just my opinion.

..Mike
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 18, 2000, 09:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 294
Send a message via ICQ to BigDave
Thumbs up to Pizzano.

great point! will keep us all out of trouble...
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2000, 01:52pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 1,051
I am trying to rationalize giving a team a win after the 4th quarter has ended. Does anyone have a casebook reference where you would end the game and not play the OT after discovering the error (I could not find one)? Since the fourth quarter is over, I think you need to play that OT period with the point correction technically becoming part of the OT. In essence, you would jump with Team B one point ahead.

T's become part of the OT, why wouldn't this?
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 19, 2000, 02:26pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 11,763
As Indy_Ref said, 2.11.10D.

It says "Once the ball becomes live in the overtime, the overtime will be played even though a subsequent correction of an eror or mistake changes the score."

The point of no return is the live ball for the overtime (or the approval of the score, if not a tie). This does seem a little contradictory in that a T after the buzzer for the 4th quarter, but the it is not. In the case of a T, the 4th quarter actually ended in a tie and a overtime is required. In the case of a mistake, the 4th quarter did not end in a tie, it just appeared so until it was corrected.
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 20, 2000, 12:57am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,613
Quote:
Originally posted by Brian Watson
I am trying to rationalize giving a team a win after the 4th quarter has ended. Does anyone have a casebook reference where you would end the game and not play the OT after discovering the error (I could not find one)? Since the fourth quarter is over, I think you need to play that OT period with the point correction technically becoming part of the OT. In essence, you would jump with Team B one point ahead.

T's become part of the OT, why wouldn't this?
Because the game did not actually end in a tie. The rules say that a bookkeeping error can be corrected up until the final score is approved. There scorebook error must be corrected in order to determine who wins the game. As long as it's discovered prior to the beginning of the OT, you have to go with the book.
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Wed Dec 20, 2000, 01:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Posts: 179
THE RULE STATES THAT YOU CAN CORRECT THE SCORE AND CREDIT THE TEAM WITH THE THREE POINTS, BUT IF THE OVERTIME HAS STARTED AND THEN THE ERROR IS NOTICED AND CORRECTED YOU HAVE TO FINISH THE OT PERIOD.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1