|  | 
|  | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Game goes into OT....  say 48 to 48 at the end of regulation.  During the OT period (say 2:00 left), it is noticed that there are no 3 point awarded baskets for the B team. However, both officials (or all three) know without a doubt that B did in fact have one 3-pointer, and that it was scored in regulation time. What do you do? If team A was winning when the game was stopped to look at the error? If team B was winning when the game was stopped to look at the error? ..Mike Just putting this one out there... | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			My friend just e-mailed and he agrees with you. If I ever had a vote on NF rule changes, I'd work to change this one. Too bad that OT started... team B won the game in regulation. That's just my opinion. ..Mike | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			Same situation, except overtime has not started.  Team B short 1 point because 3 not credited.  Team A had last possession and successfully went for 2 to tie, when they could have gone for a 3 if they knew that they needed it.  Do you now award win to B?
		 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Again, without finding it in the book first...
			 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			IndyRef is correct.  In the coach's situation, since the OT has not begun, B would be awarded the win.  But once the OT starts, you have to complete it. JugglingRef, I believe you become a senior member after 100 posts. Big Woo!   | 
| 
 | |||
| 
				
				Sound like the election recount? (nm)
			 Quote: 
 | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			I am trying to rationalize giving a team a win after the 4th quarter has ended.  Does anyone have a casebook reference where you would end the game and not play the OT after discovering the error (I could not find one)?  Since the fourth quarter is over, I think you need to play that OT period with the point correction technically becoming part of the OT.  In essence, you would jump with Team B  one point ahead. T's become part of the OT, why wouldn't this? | 
| 
 | |||
| 
			
			As Indy_Ref said, 2.11.10D. It says "Once the ball becomes live in the overtime, the overtime will be played even though a subsequent correction of an eror or mistake changes the score." The point of no return is the live ball for the overtime (or the approval of the score, if not a tie). This does seem a little contradictory in that a T after the buzzer for the 4th quarter, but the it is not. In the case of a T, the 4th quarter actually ended in a tie and a overtime is required. In the case of a mistake, the 4th quarter did not end in a tie, it just appeared so until it was corrected. | 
| 
 | |||
| Quote: 
 | 
|  | 
| Bookmarks | 
| 
 |  |