The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Sun Mar 07, 2004, 11:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 365
The ruling

Here is the quote from the video. I had to stop and rewind a couple of times to make sure that I got this quote verbatim. It is discussing receiving an inbounds pass while straddling the midcourt line. "However, if the player accepting the ball, fumbles the ball and recovers with one foot still in the backcourt, then that player has violated the backcourt rule." Plus the video that goes with these words clearly shows that the girl representing the player never has player control, therefore no team control. Yet they said this was a violation.

However, there is a key in the words they use. The video says "fumbles." The 2002-2003 simplified and illustrated states that a fumble requires momentary control and a muff does not. If a player muffs a pass no team control, if I fumble a pass then I have control and a loose ball. Unfortunately since the video appears more like a muff than a fumble, I would have ruled differently than the video indicates.
__________________
"referee the defense"
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1