The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 27, 2004, 11:26am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1
Question

Does anyone know about the 2-possession rule for correcting an error? A ball was deflected out of bounds. The referee awarded the ball to our team. We scored on the ensuing play, and the other team in-bounded the ball and was heading up the court. The referee blew his whistle. He went to the scorer’s table and told the official scorer to take our last basket away and award the ball to our opponent. He explained that he had made an error on the deflected ball and awarded it to the wrong team. He added that an official can correct an error and has 2-possessions in which to correct any error. I was unable to find this rule anywhere. Was this legitimate?
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 27, 2004, 11:37am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Posts: 14,612
No, it wasn't.

Look under rule 2-10.

And delete those extra posts, would ya?
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 27, 2004, 11:44am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 108
Send a message via AIM to chayce
Unfortunately, he was wrong. Correctable errors do not include giving the ball to the wrong team. You can find a complete list of the 5 correctable errors in the rule book, Rule 2.10.1A-E. Once the ball is put in play by one team, the official can not make a change. This may not seem fair but it is the rule.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 27, 2004, 12:01pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
CoachATM, Ask the supervisor who hired the official to please have the official to check the rule. If you or your AD hired the official, then ask another official to ask him to check the rule.
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 27, 2004, 01:09pm
DJ DJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 244
Smile Free throws

Don't correctable errors only involve free throws?
__________________
"Will not leave you hanging!"
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 27, 2004, 01:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Re: Free throws

Quote:
Originally posted by DJ
Don't correctable errors only involve free throws?
Look it up!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1