![]() |
|
|||
I'm not really sure if that the correct terminology, but it when a player is all alone on a fast break and another player intentionally fouls him. What is the correct ruling for this? Give him 2 shots even though it was on the ground? I saw it called once in an NBA game and I was wondering.
|
|
|||
Just a guess.
Understand that this definition only applies to the NBA or possibly the WNBA. There is no such animal at the NCAA or NF levels.
But to answer your question, I think they get the ball back after shooting two shots. I could be wrong, but they treat it like an Intentional Foul I believe. But understand my answer is only based on anecdotal information, not the actual rulebook knowledge of NBA Rules. Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble." ----------------------------------------------------------- Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010) |
|
|||
NFHS Ruling
jgully:
If the player "intentionally" fouls an opposing player and the official deems the act as an intentional foul, an intentional foul will be called. The penalty for an intentional foul is two free throws and the ball is put in play out of bounds at the location nearest to the spot of the foul. |
|
|||
Forgot to add that on a clear-path-to-the-basket foul, the player who is fouled shoots the FT. This is different from the away-from-the-play foul, where any player on the floor can shoot the FT.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only! |
![]() |
Bookmarks |
|
|