The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Feb 19, 2004, 09:05pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by footlocker
this is similar to a recent thread. The call was right. But two or three minutes, are you kidding?

I also disagree with the though that the referee ought to make the call.
I think by rule, he DOES NOT have the authority to overrule, at least not in Fed, nor in NCAA. The situation posted above is covered in both casebooks, I think, and the specifics of how to handle it are covered. I don't believe there's any judgment involved once the "Blarge" has been signalled.
You are correct. I believe NCAA women's requires the 2 calling officials to decide one or the other, but under ncaam it's a double foul by rule...although it's kinda encouraged that one of the two officials give up the call.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1