The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   That's not punny! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/12316-thats-not-punny.html)

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 18, 2004 01:02am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
I said in another thread that I don't have to worry much about offensive BI, but I'm wondering if it wouldn't be another instance of a live ball passing through but not counting as a basket. Could it happen?

I can't think of an instance where it could happen with BI. The whistle blows and the ball becomes dead when you call the BI, and that has to occur before the ball goes all the way through.If the ball has gone all the way through, you can no longer call BI, by rule.

Danvrapp Wed Feb 18, 2004 08:56am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by TPS2859
I did'nt think a basket would count unless it is part of an attempt.
Oops! Think again. ;) Any time a live ball goes through the basket, it counts. With two exceptions, that I can think of.

Are you sure? I thought I remember reading a case play with this exact description - something like A1 shoots, bounces off A2's head, buzzer goes off, ball goes in. Ruling was no bucket because the bounce off of A2's head wasn't a try, by definition. Maybe that's different since it's an end-of-game scenario?

I'm gonna have to find the case play...

bob jenkins Wed Feb 18, 2004 09:00am

Quote:

Originally posted by Danvrapp
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by TPS2859
I did'nt think a basket would count unless it is part of an attempt.
Oops! Think again. ;) Any time a live ball goes through the basket, it counts. With two exceptions, that I can think of.

Are you sure? I thought I remember reading a case play with this exact description - something like A1 shoots, bounces off A2's head, buzzer goes off, ball goes in. Ruling was no bucket because the bounce off of A2's head wasn't a try, by definition. Maybe that's different since it's an end-of-game scenario?

I'm gonna have to find the case play...

No "maybe" about it -- Chuck's quote says, "...live ball..." -- on the end-of-game scenario, the ball wasn't live when it went through the basket.


WinterWillie Wed Feb 18, 2004 09:53am

Punny
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by TPS2859
.

http://www.nynewsday.com/media/thumb...2/11448860.jpg







"A-Rod goes to the Yankees and you sit there and look at that lineup top to bottom," White Sox closer Billy Koch said. " The best way to deal with that lineup is to be a Yankee pitcher."


rainmaker Wed Feb 18, 2004 11:38am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
I said in another thread that I don't have to worry much about offensive BI, but I'm wondering if it wouldn't be another instance of a live ball passing through but not counting as a basket. Could it happen?

I can't think of an instance where it could happen with BI. The whistle blows and the ball becomes dead when you call the BI, and that has to occur before the ball goes all the way through.If the ball has gone all the way through, you can no longer call BI, by rule.

I see. So, if the contact with the ring or net happen late enough that the ball is already through, there's no call, it's not BI. And if the ball is not yet through, the infraction makes the ball dead, so it's not a live ball passing through the net. The whistle may come after the ball is through though, correct? It's really the infraction and not the whistle that makes the ball dead, isn't that right?

TriggerMN Wed Feb 18, 2004 11:52am

Don't have my case book handy, but there's another situation in Rule 10. If A1 inbounds to A2, who then tosses it in the wrong basket on purpose, the goal is disallowed, and a technical is given to A2. Can anyone verify this? I think it's case book 10.3.something...

bob jenkins Wed Feb 18, 2004 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TriggerMN
Don't have my case book handy, but there's another situation in Rule 10. If A1 inbounds to A2, who then tosses it in the wrong basket on purpose, the goal is disallowed, and a technical is given to A2. Can anyone verify this? I think it's case book 10.3.something...
I think you have the case confused -- the case deals with A inbounding when it's B who's supposed to be inbounding. Since time is put back on, I guess I'd say that the ball was dead (even if no one knew it at the time).


CYO Butch Wed Feb 18, 2004 03:31pm

Another example
 
A ball going through following offensive interference is likewise not counted. I'm not sure if this would be because of a violation before the ball went through or because by rule the basket does not count.

ChuckElias Thu Feb 19, 2004 10:32am

Re: Another example
 
Quote:

Originally posted by CYO Butch
A ball going through following offensive interference is likewise not counted.
The BI causes the ball to be dead immediately, so it's not a LIVE ball passing thru the basket.

golfdesigner Thu Feb 19, 2004 11:31am

[quote]

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by TPS2859
I did'nt think a basket would count unless it is part of an attempt.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Quote:

Oops! Think again. Any time a live ball goes through the basket, it counts. With two exceptions, that I can think of.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Are you sure? I thought I remember reading a case play with this exact description - something like A1 shoots, bounces off A2's head, buzzer goes off, ball goes in. Ruling was no bucket because the bounce off of A2's head wasn't a try, by definition. Maybe that's different since it's an end-of-game scenario?


I'm gonna have to find the case play...
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quote:

posted by Bob Jenkins

No "maybe" about it -- Chuck's quote says, "...live ball..." -- on the end-of-game scenario, the ball wasn't live when it went through the basket.



it is a case play..this is C6.7.6 page 50
"Ruling: No goal. The ball rebounding from A2's head is not considered a try or a tap. A try or tap is made with the hand(s). In this situation, since it was not a try or tap, the ball became dead immediately when time expired. (4-50-5)



DJ Thu Feb 19, 2004 11:38am

correct me if I am wrong!
 
If the horn went off before the ball went through the basket I believe the ball would be dead and the basket would not count. I do not have my rule book to back it up but I think that this is a correct interpetation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:54pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1