The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   That's not punny! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/12316-thats-not-punny.html)

Mark Padgett Tue Feb 17, 2004 04:28pm

Last Friday night, A1 took a shot from 3 point territory. He shot an airball, and as the ball came down, it hit A2 (who was getting into rebounding position) on the back of the head, then went OOB. A2 was shaken up a little so we called an injury timeout.

My partner came over to me and asked me if the shot would have counted if it had gone in off A2's head. I told him yes - but it would not count for three points, since the shot ended when it hit the kid's head.

I said that since A2 had not taken the shot, it was only a two.

He smiled and said, "I dunno. It looks like he took quite a shot to me."

TPS2859 Tue Feb 17, 2004 04:34pm

I did'nt think a basket would count unless it is part of an attempt. Bouncing of a head is not an attempt?

ChuckElias Tue Feb 17, 2004 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TPS2859
I did'nt think a basket would count unless it is part of an attempt.
Oops! Think again. ;) Any time a live ball goes through the basket, it counts. With two exceptions, that I can think of.

thumpferee Tue Feb 17, 2004 04:41pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TPS2859
I did'nt think a basket would count unless it is part of an attempt. Bouncing of a head is not an attempt?
A goal is made when a live ball (which this was) enters the basket from above and remains in or passes through.

The 2 exceptions are a player control foul, or a throw -in which is not touched and enters the basket.

[Edited by thumpferee on Feb 17th, 2004 at 03:44 PM]

TPS2859 Tue Feb 17, 2004 04:47pm

Thanks for the info.

Can a player bounce the ball to make it go into the hoop???

Dan_ref Tue Feb 17, 2004 04:53pm

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by TPS2859
I did'nt think a basket would count unless it is part of an attempt.
Oops! Think again. ;) Any time a live ball goes through the basket, it counts. With two exceptions, that I can think of.

Only one under ncaam, correct?

BTW, I happened to bump into this in my internet travels.

http://www.nynewsday.com/media/thumb...2/11448860.jpg

Adam Tue Feb 17, 2004 04:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TPS2859
Thanks for the info.

Can a player bounce the ball to make it go into the hoop???

Yes, except for a free throw. (The ball becomes dead when it hits the floor.)

Technically, there is one other exception, a correctable wrongly awarded free throw.

thumpferee Tue Feb 17, 2004 04:59pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TPS2859
Thanks for the info.

Can a player bounce the ball to make it go into the hoop???

The ball went in, didn't it???

Only if the ball was bounced from beyond the three point it would only count as 2.
See Rule 5.2.1

TPS2859 Tue Feb 17, 2004 05:08pm

Has anyone seen this happen?

gsf23 Tue Feb 17, 2004 05:45pm

Saw one but it didn't count. Kid throws up a half court shot at the buzzer, ball hits the top of the backboard, bounces off back toward half court, hits a light on the ceiling and bounces back toward the basket, hits the floor just past the free throw line, bounces up and in, nothing but net.

thumpferee Tue Feb 17, 2004 05:51pm

Quote:

Originally posted by gsf23
Saw one but it didn't count. Kid throws up a half court shot at the buzzer, ball hits the top of the backboard, bounces off back toward half court, hits a light on the ceiling and bounces back toward the basket, hits the floor just past the free throw line, bounces up and in, nothing but net.
WOW! Fans probably wanted to beat up the ref for calling it no good!

whistleone Tue Feb 17, 2004 05:52pm

How about the ball that goes through the net from below, above the rim and then comes back down through the top? I seem to remember that being disallowed as well.

thumpferee Tue Feb 17, 2004 05:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by whistleone
How about the ball that goes through the net from below, above the rim and then comes back down through the top? I seem to remember that being disallowed as well.
See earlier post:

A goal is made when a live ball (which this was) enters the basket FROM ABOVE and remains in or passes through.

Sven Tue Feb 17, 2004 06:29pm

Quote:

Originally posted by thumpferee
Quote:

Originally posted by whistleone
How about the ball that goes through the net from below, above the rim and then comes back down through the top? I seem to remember that being disallowed as well.
See earlier post:

A goal is made when a live ball (which this was) enters the basket FROM ABOVE and remains in or passes through.

NFHS 9-4 covers this as well: "A player shall not...cause [the ball] to enter and pass through the basket from below."

Violation.

Sven

rainmaker Tue Feb 17, 2004 11:19pm

I said in another thread that I don't have to worry much about offensive BI, but I'm wondering if it wouldn't be another instance of a live ball passing through but not counting as a basket. COuld it happen?

Jurassic Referee Wed Feb 18, 2004 01:02am

Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
I said in another thread that I don't have to worry much about offensive BI, but I'm wondering if it wouldn't be another instance of a live ball passing through but not counting as a basket. Could it happen?

I can't think of an instance where it could happen with BI. The whistle blows and the ball becomes dead when you call the BI, and that has to occur before the ball goes all the way through.If the ball has gone all the way through, you can no longer call BI, by rule.

Danvrapp Wed Feb 18, 2004 08:56am

Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by TPS2859
I did'nt think a basket would count unless it is part of an attempt.
Oops! Think again. ;) Any time a live ball goes through the basket, it counts. With two exceptions, that I can think of.

Are you sure? I thought I remember reading a case play with this exact description - something like A1 shoots, bounces off A2's head, buzzer goes off, ball goes in. Ruling was no bucket because the bounce off of A2's head wasn't a try, by definition. Maybe that's different since it's an end-of-game scenario?

I'm gonna have to find the case play...

bob jenkins Wed Feb 18, 2004 09:00am

Quote:

Originally posted by Danvrapp
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by TPS2859
I did'nt think a basket would count unless it is part of an attempt.
Oops! Think again. ;) Any time a live ball goes through the basket, it counts. With two exceptions, that I can think of.

Are you sure? I thought I remember reading a case play with this exact description - something like A1 shoots, bounces off A2's head, buzzer goes off, ball goes in. Ruling was no bucket because the bounce off of A2's head wasn't a try, by definition. Maybe that's different since it's an end-of-game scenario?

I'm gonna have to find the case play...

No "maybe" about it -- Chuck's quote says, "...live ball..." -- on the end-of-game scenario, the ball wasn't live when it went through the basket.


WinterWillie Wed Feb 18, 2004 09:53am

Punny
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by ChuckElias
Quote:

Originally posted by TPS2859
.

http://www.nynewsday.com/media/thumb...2/11448860.jpg







"A-Rod goes to the Yankees and you sit there and look at that lineup top to bottom," White Sox closer Billy Koch said. " The best way to deal with that lineup is to be a Yankee pitcher."


rainmaker Wed Feb 18, 2004 11:38am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by rainmaker
I said in another thread that I don't have to worry much about offensive BI, but I'm wondering if it wouldn't be another instance of a live ball passing through but not counting as a basket. Could it happen?

I can't think of an instance where it could happen with BI. The whistle blows and the ball becomes dead when you call the BI, and that has to occur before the ball goes all the way through.If the ball has gone all the way through, you can no longer call BI, by rule.

I see. So, if the contact with the ring or net happen late enough that the ball is already through, there's no call, it's not BI. And if the ball is not yet through, the infraction makes the ball dead, so it's not a live ball passing through the net. The whistle may come after the ball is through though, correct? It's really the infraction and not the whistle that makes the ball dead, isn't that right?

TriggerMN Wed Feb 18, 2004 11:52am

Don't have my case book handy, but there's another situation in Rule 10. If A1 inbounds to A2, who then tosses it in the wrong basket on purpose, the goal is disallowed, and a technical is given to A2. Can anyone verify this? I think it's case book 10.3.something...

bob jenkins Wed Feb 18, 2004 01:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by TriggerMN
Don't have my case book handy, but there's another situation in Rule 10. If A1 inbounds to A2, who then tosses it in the wrong basket on purpose, the goal is disallowed, and a technical is given to A2. Can anyone verify this? I think it's case book 10.3.something...
I think you have the case confused -- the case deals with A inbounding when it's B who's supposed to be inbounding. Since time is put back on, I guess I'd say that the ball was dead (even if no one knew it at the time).


CYO Butch Wed Feb 18, 2004 03:31pm

Another example
 
A ball going through following offensive interference is likewise not counted. I'm not sure if this would be because of a violation before the ball went through or because by rule the basket does not count.

ChuckElias Thu Feb 19, 2004 10:32am

Re: Another example
 
Quote:

Originally posted by CYO Butch
A ball going through following offensive interference is likewise not counted.
The BI causes the ball to be dead immediately, so it's not a LIVE ball passing thru the basket.

golfdesigner Thu Feb 19, 2004 11:31am

[quote]

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Originally posted by TPS2859
I did'nt think a basket would count unless it is part of an attempt.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Quote:

Oops! Think again. Any time a live ball goes through the basket, it counts. With two exceptions, that I can think of.
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------


Are you sure? I thought I remember reading a case play with this exact description - something like A1 shoots, bounces off A2's head, buzzer goes off, ball goes in. Ruling was no bucket because the bounce off of A2's head wasn't a try, by definition. Maybe that's different since it's an end-of-game scenario?


I'm gonna have to find the case play...
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Quote:

posted by Bob Jenkins

No "maybe" about it -- Chuck's quote says, "...live ball..." -- on the end-of-game scenario, the ball wasn't live when it went through the basket.



it is a case play..this is C6.7.6 page 50
"Ruling: No goal. The ball rebounding from A2's head is not considered a try or a tap. A try or tap is made with the hand(s). In this situation, since it was not a try or tap, the ball became dead immediately when time expired. (4-50-5)



DJ Thu Feb 19, 2004 11:38am

correct me if I am wrong!
 
If the horn went off before the ball went through the basket I believe the ball would be dead and the basket would not count. I do not have my rule book to back it up but I think that this is a correct interpetation.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:52am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1