The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 11, 2004, 10:00am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
Quote:
Originally posted by footlocker
Disagree ChuckElias. It's our game and our burden to do what is right. The calling official doesn't have to be "overrulled" because of a meeting with his partner. He can change his own call. He called backcourt once team B got the ball. Give it back to them.

Referees that are so strictly by the book that they forget common sense scare me (and coaches).
Footlocker, Chuck is saying the same thing. Chuck's way to handle it is exactly correct, because an inadvertant whistle is exactly what you have. With the IW B retains possesion since they were in possesion when the IW occured. He is also correct that the call can't be overturned by the other official, but that a conference may show the one official the error of his ways
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:38pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1