The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2004, 10:13am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Quote:
Originally posted by thumpferee
Quote:
Originally posted by bseybs32
i just read that. I agree with that situation. But, A1 was in complete control of the ball after I gave it to her.
My partner had a three count on her.

She didn't muff the pass from me, or accidently drop the pass from me.

What if a player, from team A or B, along the lane had stepped in prior to her throwing motion? Does that allow for a do-over?
Yes, IMO. If A is shooting, and A steps in, violation, 1 shot (if 2 shots) If B violates, still 2 (if 2)
In this situation, she did violate by stepping over the line to recover the ball, and you have no choice but to assess the penalty for the violation, as you did.

However, when she shanked the ball off her toe, she was completely within the intent of the case book play cited above, and you should have blown the whistle immediately to prevent the violation. She DID NOT have control of the ball -- no one would voluntarily and with control bounce the ball off her toe so that it flies out of reach!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:41pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1