The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #46 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2004, 01:19pm
DJ DJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 244
Amen

And until we get an official ruling from an official official, amen!
__________________
"Will not leave you hanging!"
Reply With Quote
  #47 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2004, 02:06pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Exclamation

Ya' know - I'm kind of surprised that no one has asked what we did when this happened.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #48 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2004, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
I think I am the one who brought this dead horse back to life...sorry bout that.

I would like to add though, I have been in the L and a rebound has been batted toward my head off of, say, A1 with A2 going after it, my reflexes take over. It is not intentional, but I did affect the play. Sorry, B ball.

If the coach defrects the ball to prevent injury or just pure instintinctiveness, he should not be penalized with a T. He did interfere with the overall outcome of the play, so award posession accordingly. If he intentionally grabs the ball while the opposing team is going after it, T.

Thoughts?
Reply With Quote
  #49 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2004, 02:09pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Hey Mark, What did you guys do when this happened?
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #50 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2004, 02:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
What did you do in this situation?
Reply With Quote
  #51 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2004, 02:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Ya' know - I'm kind of surprised that no one has asked what we did when this happened.
Puked on his shoes?
Reply With Quote
  #52 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2004, 02:12pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Ah, comeon Mark, tell us. Pleeasseeee, pretty Pleeasssee
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #53 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2004, 02:23pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 365
Mark, what was your call?
Reply With Quote
  #54 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2004, 03:06pm
certified Hot Mom tester
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: only in my own mind, such as it is
Posts: 12,918
Cool

There was no call because I made up the scenario. I saw a ball hit a coach in the back of the head while he was standing in the box looking downcourt and wondered what I would have called if he had intentionally grabbed the ball while an opponent was trying to save it.

I posted it just to get a discussion started, since I couldn't find a definitive answer in the NF rulebook.

It has been fun, hasn't it?

Oh yeah - what would I call in this case? If I thought the coach intentionally grabbed the ball to prevent the opponent from making a play, he gets a T for unsportsmanlike conduct, since the ball was still live when he did it.
__________________
Yom HaShoah
Reply With Quote
  #55 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2004, 03:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
Angry

talk about taking the wind out of the sails!!!! I puke on your shoes.
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #56 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2004, 03:17pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Just north of hell
Posts: 9,250
Send a message via AIM to Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
There was no call because I made up the scenario. I saw a ball hit a coach in the back of the head while he was standing in the box looking downcourt and wondered what I would have called if he had intentionally grabbed the ball while an opponent was trying to save it.

I posted it just to get a discussion started, since I couldn't find a definitive answer in the NF rulebook.

It has been fun, hasn't it?

Oh yeah - what would I call in this case? If I thought the coach intentionally grabbed the ball to prevent the opponent from making a play, he gets a T for unsportsmanlike conduct, since the ball was still live when he did it.
Very clever.

Howzabout this one: in Mark's real play someone yells "Hey coach! Watch out!!" and the coach quickly turns and (ahem) intentionally (cough cough) catches the ball before it pops him in the nose, negating A1's valiant and death defying dive to save the ball.

So, what say all you good folks who would nail a coach to the wall for (ahem) intentionally interfering with this play?
Reply With Quote
  #57 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2004, 04:24pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally posted by Andy
Either A2 failed to catch the pass from his teammate or A1 threw a bad pass. Either way, team A is the team that caused the ball to be near the sideline in the first place. If they had executed properly, there would be no play to discuss.
There is no authority to penalize a team for making a bad pass. There is, however, authority to penalize a team for causing the ball to go out of bounds. The penalty is loss of possession. Since the two are different, there is a play to discuss. Namely, the originally written.

With your thinking, why do we discuss the philosphy behind purposely fouling to catch up in the dying minute of a game? If the losing team would have just made more baskets throughout the game, there would be no philosophy to discuss.

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Andy
[B]Just because A2 appears to have a good chance to save the ball back inbounds, how can it be determined which team will retrieve the ball once he does?[B][QUOTE]

Doesn't matter. He was not afforded that opportunity. That's where the unsportsmanlike conduct enters. Team A player could have requested a timeout. She doesn't need to pass it to anyone.

Quote:
Originally posted by Andy
The only thing I can't see in this situation is just to give the ball back to A. If the coach's action is unintentional, the ball is out of bounds on A, B's ball. If I judged that the coach acted intentionally to interfere with A2's play, T the coach.
You are correct - in your judgement. We as officials do that all the time. This is no different. The original post says: ...and it appears that he will be able to do this successfully...
Reply With Quote
  #58 (permalink)  
Old Fri Feb 06, 2004, 04:34pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:
Originally posted by Mark Padgett
There was no call because I made up the scenario. I saw a ball hit a coach in the back of the head while he was standing in the box looking downcourt and wondered what I would have called if he had intentionally grabbed the ball while an opponent was trying to save it.

I posted it just to get a discussion started, since I couldn't find a definitive answer in the NF rulebook.

It has been fun, hasn't it?

Oh yeah - what would I call in this case? If I thought the coach intentionally grabbed the ball to prevent the opponent from making a play, he gets a T for unsportsmanlike conduct, since the ball was still live when he did it.
Very clever.

Howzabout this one: in Mark's real play someone yells "Hey coach! Watch out!!" and the coach quickly turns and (ahem) intentionally (cough cough) catches the ball before it pops him in the nose, negating A1's valiant and death defying dive to save the ball.

So, what say all you good folks who would nail a coach to the wall for (ahem) intentionally interfering with this play?
Something like this I would have to see to rule on. For it to happen, A1 must have been near enough by that he had a chance to touch it before it hit Coach B in the back, and someone yelled early enough to allow B time to turn around and reflex a catch. If A was nearby - I might give A the ball, because of equity, JR or I might give B the ball. I do not believe in this case I would have a T.

Because this sitch gives more specific info than the original post, it is filling a bubble that says B grabbed the ball to prevent from being bopped in the noggin. Which is what we should be using: use your NOGGIN and BE FAIR when weird stuff happens.
Reply With Quote
  #59 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 07, 2004, 03:21pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: NeverNeverLand
Posts: 1,037
I think the question here is, if not intentional by the coach, is WHO caused the ball to go out of bounds?

B's coach.

A's ball.
Reply With Quote
  #60 (permalink)  
Old Sat Feb 07, 2004, 04:55pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by thumpferee
I think the question here is, if not intentional by the coach, is WHO caused the ball to go out of bounds?

B's coach.

A's ball.
The same ruling must then also be applicable if B's coach is sitting on the bench and he catches a live ball thrown OOB by A, eh? Using the same logic, the B coach caused the ball to go OOB in that situation too.

I wanna be there when you call that!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:28pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1