The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   You make the call, part 3,607 (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/12103-you-make-call-part-3-607-a.html)

DJ Fri Feb 06, 2004 01:19pm

Amen
 
And until we get an official ruling from an official official, amen!

Mark Padgett Fri Feb 06, 2004 02:06pm

Ya' know - I'm kind of surprised that no one has asked what we did when this happened.

thumpferee Fri Feb 06, 2004 02:09pm

I think I am the one who brought this dead horse back to life...sorry bout that.

I would like to add though, I have been in the L and a rebound has been batted toward my head off of, say, A1 with A2 going after it, my reflexes take over. It is not intentional, but I did affect the play. Sorry, B ball.

If the coach defrects the ball to prevent injury or just pure instintinctiveness, he should not be penalized with a T. He did interfere with the overall outcome of the play, so award posession accordingly. If he intentionally grabs the ball while the opposing team is going after it, T.

Thoughts?

Bart Tyson Fri Feb 06, 2004 02:09pm

Hey Mark, What did you guys do when this happened?

thumpferee Fri Feb 06, 2004 02:10pm

What did you do in this situation?

Dan_ref Fri Feb 06, 2004 02:10pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Ya' know - I'm kind of surprised that no one has asked what we did when this happened.
Puked on his shoes?

Bart Tyson Fri Feb 06, 2004 02:12pm

Ah, comeon Mark, tell us. Pleeasseeee, pretty Pleeasssee

footlocker Fri Feb 06, 2004 02:23pm

Mark, what was your call?

Mark Padgett Fri Feb 06, 2004 03:06pm

There was no call because I made up the scenario. I saw a ball hit a coach in the back of the head while he was standing in the box looking downcourt and wondered what I would have called if he had intentionally grabbed the ball while an opponent was trying to save it.

I posted it just to get a discussion started, since I couldn't find a definitive answer in the NF rulebook.

It has been fun, hasn't it?

Oh yeah - what would I call in this case? If I thought the coach intentionally grabbed the ball to prevent the opponent from making a play, he gets a T for unsportsmanlike conduct, since the ball was still live when he did it.

Bart Tyson Fri Feb 06, 2004 03:14pm

talk about taking the wind out of the sails!!!! I puke on your shoes. :)

Dan_ref Fri Feb 06, 2004 03:17pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
There was no call because I made up the scenario. I saw a ball hit a coach in the back of the head while he was standing in the box looking downcourt and wondered what I would have called if he had intentionally grabbed the ball while an opponent was trying to save it.

I posted it just to get a discussion started, since I couldn't find a definitive answer in the NF rulebook.

It has been fun, hasn't it?

Oh yeah - what would I call in this case? If I thought the coach intentionally grabbed the ball to prevent the opponent from making a play, he gets a T for unsportsmanlike conduct, since the ball was still live when he did it.

Very clever.

Howzabout this one: in Mark's real play someone yells "Hey coach! Watch out!!" and the coach quickly turns and (ahem) intentionally (cough cough) catches the ball before it pops him in the nose, negating A1's valiant and death defying dive to save the ball.

So, what say all you good folks who would nail a coach to the wall for (ahem) intentionally interfering with this play?

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 06, 2004 04:24pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Andy
Either A2 failed to catch the pass from his teammate or A1 threw a bad pass. Either way, team A is the team that caused the ball to be near the sideline in the first place. If they had executed properly, there would be no play to discuss.
There is no authority to penalize a team for making a bad pass. There is, however, authority to penalize a team for causing the ball to go out of bounds. The penalty is loss of possession. Since the two are different, there is a play to discuss. Namely, the originally written.

With your thinking, why do we discuss the philosphy behind purposely fouling to catch up in the dying minute of a game? If the losing team would have just made more baskets throughout the game, there would be no philosophy to discuss.

[QUOTE]Originally posted by Andy
[B]Just because A2 appears to have a good chance to save the ball back inbounds, how can it be determined which team will retrieve the ball once he does?[B][QUOTE]

Doesn't matter. He was not afforded that opportunity. That's where the unsportsmanlike conduct enters. Team A player could have requested a timeout. She doesn't need to pass it to anyone.

Quote:

Originally posted by Andy
The only thing I can't see in this situation is just to give the ball back to A. If the coach's action is unintentional, the ball is out of bounds on A, B's ball. If I judged that the coach acted intentionally to interfere with A2's play, T the coach.
You are correct - in your judgement. We as officials do that all the time. This is no different. The original post says: ...and it appears that he will be able to do this successfully...

JugglingReferee Fri Feb 06, 2004 04:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
There was no call because I made up the scenario. I saw a ball hit a coach in the back of the head while he was standing in the box looking downcourt and wondered what I would have called if he had intentionally grabbed the ball while an opponent was trying to save it.

I posted it just to get a discussion started, since I couldn't find a definitive answer in the NF rulebook.

It has been fun, hasn't it?

Oh yeah - what would I call in this case? If I thought the coach intentionally grabbed the ball to prevent the opponent from making a play, he gets a T for unsportsmanlike conduct, since the ball was still live when he did it.

Very clever.

Howzabout this one: in Mark's real play someone yells "Hey coach! Watch out!!" and the coach quickly turns and (ahem) intentionally (cough cough) catches the ball before it pops him in the nose, negating A1's valiant and death defying dive to save the ball.

So, what say all you good folks who would nail a coach to the wall for (ahem) intentionally interfering with this play?

Something like this I would have to see to rule on. For it to happen, A1 must have been near enough by that he had a chance to touch it before it hit Coach B in the back, and someone yelled early enough to allow B time to turn around and reflex a catch. If A was nearby - I might give A the ball, because of equity, JR :D or I might give B the ball. I do not believe in this case I would have a T.

Because this sitch gives more specific info than the original post, it is filling a bubble that says B grabbed the ball to prevent from being bopped in the noggin. Which is what we should be using: use your NOGGIN and BE FAIR when weird stuff happens.

thumpferee Sat Feb 07, 2004 03:21pm

I think the question here is, if not intentional by the coach, is WHO caused the ball to go out of bounds?

B's coach.

A's ball.

Jurassic Referee Sat Feb 07, 2004 04:55pm

Quote:

Originally posted by thumpferee
I think the question here is, if not intentional by the coach, is WHO caused the ball to go out of bounds?

B's coach.

A's ball.

The same ruling must then also be applicable if B's coach is sitting on the bench and he catches a live ball thrown OOB by A, eh? Using the same logic, the B coach caused the ball to go OOB in that situation too.

I wanna be there when you call that! :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:06am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1