The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 03:52pm
Official Forum Member

I was getting ready to officiate a game. I looked over and the two other officials were exchanging words and got into a fight. The coaches and myself went over and stopped it. i felt that we wouldn't be able to work together as a team, so i decided to postpone the game. is that the best thing to do?
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 04:14pm
Official Forum Member

As a coach, I know that I would have some issues if either of these guys turned around after their fight and started reffing my game. You have the option of going solo, getting another ref (doesn't sound like you had one), or calling the game off in my book.

Wow!
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 04:35pm
Official Forum Member

Send a message via AIM to CYO Butch
Exclamation

A few years ago, in an adult league, one of the players and the coach got into it off the court, during a time out. They were both booted from the game (and subsequently kicked off the team by the sponsor).

I can't imagine what would happen if I ever saw a couple of officals going at each other. I can imagine it starting like this, however.
O1 "Ok, I know it wasn't in my area, but the foot was clearly on the line, that's why I blew the whistle".
O2 "It's not so much the whistle, but the fact that you had to show me up that way!"
O1 "Oh, I was just supposed to let the wrong score get posted because you f***'d up a call?"
O2 "What do you mean I f***'d up a call? You've been blowing calls all night and I've been covering your *ss."
O1 "Oh yeah? Well your *ss is too big for anybody to cover!"
O2 "WELL, F* YOU!"
O1 WHACK, POW, SOCK
O2 etc.,
Old Thu Feb 05, 2004, 04:43pm
Official Forum Member

Quote:
Originally posted by CYO Butch

O1 "Ok, I know it wasn't in my area, but the foot was clearly on the line, that's why I blew the whistle".