The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Feb 04, 2004, 02:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 769
Some here are not going to agree with this, but that is their right. Here is my interpretation:

If she had not ended her dribble, throwing the ball to the floor is part of the dribble. The support is in the CB 7.1.1 Sit D. However, this is where I have a problem with this. Per 9-3, a dribbler is considered OOB even if they are not touching the ball. This directly contradicts the CB 7.1.1 Sit D(b) ruling. I've brought this up in various venues and can't get a logical explanation as to why. So your call is as good as any and strictly by the rule, I'd say they were OOB when they returned and continued the dribble per 9-3. Fortunately, this hasn't come up for me on the court so I've been lucky in that respect. Remember, if there is a difference between the CB and Rule book, the rule book takes precedence.

Mregor
__________________
Some people are like Slinkies...
Not really good for anything, but they still bring a smile to your face when you push them down a flight of stairs.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:44pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1