When I was reading other scenarios in other threads, it made me think of a good scenario which I really had never thought about, maybe you all could help me.  Here it is: 
 
A-1 in backcourt, while trying to break a full-court press, attempts a pass to A-2, who is in the frontcourt.  Meanwhile, B-1, who is also in the frontcourt, deflects the pass.  The ball then bounces back into the backcourt where A-3 picks it up and again tries to break the full-court press. 
 
Officials call:  The first 10-second count is nullified and a new one would begin as the ball returned to the backcourt. 
 
Is this correct?  Take into consideration the rule we have clarified in previous threads.  Team A never lost team control of the ball.  My feeling is that since Team A did have the ball in the frontcourt, even though it was momentary, then a new 10-second count should begin once the ball bounces back into the backcourt.  Is this the right call?  I think it is a good question that, to tell you the truth, I am second-guessing myself.  What do you all think? 
 
============================= 
Zachary "Chunk" McCrite 
Indiana High School Officials
		 
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
		
			
			
			
			
				 
			
			
			
			
			
			
			
				
			
			
			
		 
	
	 |