The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 02:48pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 696

NFHS Boys

Player dribbling a ball under control - flying down the sideline, approaching a "set" defender.

At the last moment pass's the ball off and proceeds to run over the defender who's remains in a legal position.

Is this player Control? Is this Charging?
Is this something else?


Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 02:53pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Posts: 2,910
It's not player control because he did not have control of the ball nor was he an airborne shooter.

It is charging and simply a common foul.

Z
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1
player control

Ditto....best to know this now rather than when it happens in real life.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 03:35pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 2,674
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref Daddy

NFHS Boys

Player dribbling a ball under control - flying down the sideline, approaching a "set" defender.

At the last moment pass's the ball off and proceeds to run over the defender who's remains in a legal position.

Is this player Control? Is this Charging?
Is this something else?


You have a pushing foul on A1,free throws for B if you are in the bonus.

In college you have a team control foul,and no free throws.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 04:23pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,557
Quote:
Originally posted by blindzebra
Quote:
Originally posted by Ref Daddy

NFHS Boys

Player dribbling a ball under control - flying down the sideline, approaching a "set" defender.

At the last moment pass's the ball off and proceeds to run over the defender who's remains in a legal position.

Is this player Control? Is this Charging?
Is this something else?


You have a pushing foul on A1,free throws for B if you are in the bonus.

In college you have a team control foul,and no free throws.
You are correct about the bonus - that could be a potential issue with coaches - they might think that because the dribbler had the ball, there is no bonus. Of course, they're wrong.

However, I understanding was that this scenario called for a charging foul and not a pushing foul. Semantics perhaps.
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 04:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,476
Player control if the passer still has the ball (no shots). Push if the ball is out of the passer's hands (Shots if in the bonus - NFHS).
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 11:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Katy, TX
Posts: 275
This is one I learned here at the forum

I used to call I player control until I saw a simlar post about this. I still didn't believe it and studied the rules and case books some more. Glad to know about it before it happens to me.
__________________
Damain
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Feb 03, 2004, 12:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
One of my most memorable exchanges with a coach occured in a college game two years ago -- before the team control foul was adopted. I called a pass/crash "charge" against his point guard. They were over the limit, so the other team shot the bonus. In the second half, I called a PC against the other team. They were over the limit, but of course, no FTs were awarded.

Coach grabs my partner during a TO. "How come they got FTs and we don't?!"

He calmly explains the difference. After the TO, I walk to my position, which happens to be in front of the coach. I ask if my partner was able to answer his question.

He says "Yeah, I get it. But it stinks. They shouldn't make you guys split hairs like that."

I said, "A lot of people agree with you, but it's the rule, you know?"

He says, "Yeah? Well you can tell Hank Nichols to shove that rule up his @$$!"

I almost fell over laughing, but just said, "Sorry, Coach, but Hank doesn't take my calls."

We both laughed about it. Funny moment.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:49pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1