The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2004, 02:42pm
DJ DJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 244
Smile

In a game played this past week a last second's shot got lodged in the basket resulting in a jump ball. The officials went to the replay to determine how much time was left on the clock when the ball lodged. They looked at the replay and it showed that the ball lodged at let's say 1.9 sec. and put 1.9 seconds back on the clock. There was no time allowed for the reaction time of the officials or the timekeeper in reguards to this violation and stopping the clock. Is this proper protocal?
__________________
"Will not leave you hanging!"
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2004, 02:56pm
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 1999
Location: Toledo, Ohio, U.S.A.
Posts: 7,875
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ
In a game played this past week a last second's shot got lodged in the basket resulting in a jump ball. The officials went to the replay to determine how much time was left on the clock when the ball lodged. They looked at the replay and it showed that the ball lodged at let's say 1.9 sec. and put 1.9 seconds back on the clock. There was no time allowed for the reaction time of the officials or the timekeeper in reguards to this violation and stopping the clock. Is this proper protocal?

It depends. Was this game played under NFHS rules or NCAA rules?
__________________
Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Trumbull Co. (Warren, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Wood Co. (Bowling Green, Ohio) Bkb. Off. Assn.
Ohio Assn. of Basketball Officials
International Assn. of Approved Bkb. Officials
Ohio High School Athletic Association
Toledo, Ohio
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2004, 02:56pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 17,618
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ
In a game played this past week a last second's shot got lodged in the basket resulting in a jump ball. The officials went to the replay to determine how much time was left on the clock when the ball lodged. They looked at the replay and it showed that the ball lodged at let's say 1.9 sec. and put 1.9 seconds back on the clock. There was no time allowed for the reaction time of the officials or the timekeeper in reguards to this violation and stopping the clock. Is this proper protocal?
It's the way it's generally done in the NCAA, yes.

By rule /case in HS, if the clock was stopped at .9 or greater, it would be left where it stopped. If it stopped at .8 or less (or ran out) it would be reset to 1.9 (and, of course, no TV replay would be used in HS to determine the time).

Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2004, 03:43pm
Fav theme: Roundball Rock
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Near Dog River (sorta)
Posts: 8,558
Quote:
Originally posted by DJ
In a game played this past week a last second's shot got lodged in the basket resulting in a jump ball. The officials went to the replay to determine how much time was left on the clock when the ball lodged. They looked at the replay and it showed that the ball lodged at let's say 1.9 sec. and put 1.9 seconds back on the clock. There was no time allowed for the reaction time of the officials or the timekeeper in reguards to this violation and stopping the clock. Is this proper protocal?
I saw this NC2A game on TV; it was 1.7 they put back on the clock. I personally think they put .1 too much on - I think 1.6 was more accurate.

AFAIK, yes, this is proper protocol for NC2A.
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2004, 04:32pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 27
"By rule /case in HS, if the clock was stopped at .9 or greater, it would be left where it stopped. If it stopped at .8 or less (or ran out) it would be reset to 1.9 (and, of course, no TV replay would be used in HS to determine the time)."

Where can I find this ruling in NF book??

Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2004, 04:34pm
DJ DJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 244
Correct

In other words they are not to allow for reaction time.
__________________
"Will not leave you hanging!"
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2004, 04:36pm
DJ DJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 244
Smile No rule

It is illegal to use replay in a Fed game. You will no find it in the rule book.
__________________
"Will not leave you hanging!"
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2004, 04:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 27
I know we can't use replay equipment, just want to know where it says to put 1.9 back on the clock if it stopped at .8??
Reply With Quote
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2004, 04:58pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by RefRx
"By rule /case in HS, if the clock was stopped at .9 or greater, it would be left where it stopped. If it stopped at .8 or less (or ran out) it would be reset to 1.9 (and, of course, no TV replay would be used in HS to determine the time)."

Where can I find this ruling in NF book??

casebook play5.10.1SitB-Comment.

Bob Jenkin's answer is correct.
Reply With Quote
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2004, 05:00pm
DJ DJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 244
Smile Your judgement/knowledge!

You and your partner will have to put time back on the clock if you think it is the correct thing to do. There is no rule requiring a certain amount of time. It is up to you to determine based on your knowledge.
__________________
"Will not leave you hanging!"
Reply With Quote
  #11 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2004, 05:07pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 27
If the official has knowledge that the clock was at 1.9 after the whistle I agree, but the post did not indicate that and it confused me a bit...which is easy to do at my age.
Reply With Quote
  #12 (permalink)  
Old Wed Jan 28, 2004, 05:10pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 27
The book does have guidelines about how much to put back on but the official has to have "definitive information relative to time involved".
Reply With Quote
  #13 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 12:41pm
DJ DJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 244
Smile Reaction time

And the rule book does allow for up to one second of reaction time anything more than that is a timing error.
__________________
"Will not leave you hanging!"
Reply With Quote
  #14 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 01:20pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Cheyenne, wyoming
Posts: 1,493
Assuming that you blow the whistle and look at the clock, you put back on the clock what you see. 5.10.1b comment says that the official signalling and looking at the clock is considered the same as lag time. So if you look and see time after you blow it dead, you put it all back on there. In the case of 1.9 if the official blew his whistle then looked at the clock, and the clock operator let it go to 1.2, I say put all 1.9 back on it. IMHO..
Reply With Quote
  #15 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 02:49pm
DJ DJ is offline
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 244
Smile original

And in the original post they did not allow any lag time and reset the clock to the exact time that it showed on the replay camera when the ball lodged in the basket. So?
__________________
"Will not leave you hanging!"
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:43am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1