The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #23 (permalink)  
Old Thu Jan 29, 2004, 01:36pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Posts: 18,250
Quote:
Originally posted by Lotto
Consider the following two situations:

1) Dribbler A1 contacts guard B1, with contact on B1's torso.
2) Dribbler A1 gets head and shoulders past guard B1, then contact occurs.

In both situations, if B1 has not established LGP, we have a block on B1. In both situations, if B1 does not maintain verticality, which causes the contact, we have a block (or hold or some other foul) on B1.

OK, now what if B1 establishes LGP and maintains verticality? Do we have a charge in both situations? If so, what's the point of the "greater responsibility" statement that applies to situation 2 but not situation 1?

I guess my question is, what actions by B1 will lead to a different call (or no call) in these two situations?
(In both plays, assume LGP to start)

1) A1 tries to go around B1. B1 moves to maintain position, and is still movign when contact is made on the torso. Charge.

2) A1 tries to go around B1. B1 moves to maintain position, but A1 gets head and shoulders past B1. B1 is still moving when contact is made. Block.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:42am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1