The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2004, 02:08pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Posts: 71
Can you folks help me out on this situation?

A1 drives to basket for a layup. A1 is fouled on the shot. The ball seems to be going in but A2 jumps up and contacts the ball while it is still in the net. So I know we have BI for that and therefore we cancel the basket. Does A1 now shoot 2 free throws? Thanks for the help.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2004, 02:20pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 28,902
Exclamation Yep.

Quote:
Originally posted by sleebo
Does A1 now shoot 2 free throws? Thanks for the help.
Yes.

Peace
__________________
"When the phone does not ring, the assignor is calling."
--Black

Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2004, 04:40pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Sleebo, here's the FED case:

9.11.2 SITUATION E: A1 is fouled in the act of shooting by B1. While the ball is in the cylinder above the basket, A2 touches the ball. RULING: The basket interference by A2 causes the ball to become dead and no goal can be scored. A1 is awarded two free throws and players occupy spaces and play continues as normal when the last free throw is made or missed.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2004, 09:33pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,988
Just to add another question to this. What if B1 touches the ball while its in the cylinder. Does A1 now get 1 shot, or does he still have 2?
__________________
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2004, 09:43pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
Quote:
Originally posted by ref18
What if B1 touches the ball while its in the cylinder. Does A1 now get 1 shot, or does he still have 2?
Yes.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2004, 09:46pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,988
is the yes referring to 2 shots or 1 shot
__________________
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2004, 09:57pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,104
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
LOL Sorry Yes, when the BI is committed by the defense, you count the basket and give one FT for the foul, just as if the try had been successful.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 27, 2004, 09:58pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Posts: 1,988
Thanks for clearing that up
__________________
Never underestimate the power of stupid people in large groups
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:00am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1