The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #10 (permalink)  
Old Fri Dec 08, 2000, 09:10am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Posts: 378
OK, again I can see the thinking there, but I believe you are misunderstanding the rule. First, Rule 6-7-2 says the ball becomes or remains dead when "it is apparent the free throw WILL NOT BE SUCCESSFUL (emphasis mine)," which says to me that the ball is live until you're sure the shot missed or is completed. Second, contact during a dead ball is ignored unless it is intentional or flagrant (4-19-1-note), so contact warranting a call during a free throw would still be a personal foul since we obviously don't ignore it. And third, Casebook situation 6.7F supports that a personal foul would be called, in that it indicates you would award the ball OOB for a throw-in (prior to the bonus). Bottom line: I still believe it would be a personal foul and NOT a technical. (Note: References are based on '99-'00 books, since that's what I keep in my office.)

[Edited by Todd VandenAkker on Dec 8th, 2000 at 08:15 AM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1