The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2004, 05:24pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 1
Post

The situations that I had when officiating a game was, A girl was shooting a free throw, she took two dribbles and the ball went off her knee, my partner called a violation, is this a violation or not.
Reply With Quote
  #2 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2004, 05:30pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 426
Send a message via AIM to dhodges007 Send a message via Yahoo to dhodges007
Common sense, give her the ball back...
__________________
~Hodges

My two sense!
Reply With Quote
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2004, 05:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,220
Case book 9.1, give her the ball back. Common sense and rules both say partner was wrong.

9.1 SITUATION: A1, at the free throw line to attempt a free throw (a) muffs the pass from the official and it rolls forward; or (b) accidentally drops the ball before the throwing motion is started. Ruling: In (a) and (b) the official should sound the whistle to prevent any violations and then start the free throw procedure again.
Reply With Quote
  #4 (permalink)  
Old Fri Jan 23, 2004, 05:39pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Posts: 1,517
No, not a violation. Blow the whistle and get the ball back to her. Now, some might say if she steps out to go for the ball then you can have a violation. Yes, this would be a violation. Thats why you want to have a quick whistle to stop play, then if something goofy happens there is no violation.
__________________
foulbuster
Reply With Quote
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 24, 2004, 02:36am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Portland, Oregon
Posts: 9,466
Send a message via AIM to rainmaker
Okay, give the ball back, but here's the tough one -- does she get another 10-count?
Reply With Quote
  #6 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 24, 2004, 03:56am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Idaho
Posts: 1,476
Did you think the muffing the ball off her knee was an intentional delay? Like the player that spends 10 seconds to shoot a free throw? I'm thinking not.

Start over from the beginning with a full 10.
__________________
"There are no superstar calls. We don't root for certain teams. We don't cheat. But sometimes we just miss calls." - Joe Crawford
Reply With Quote
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 24, 2004, 08:50am
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: Houghton, U.P., Michigan
Posts: 9,953
Quote:
Originally posted by rainmaker
Okay, give the ball back, but here's the tough one -- does she get another 10-count?
Getting to 10 seconds on a normal free throw is nearly impossible because, when we get to 9, we start counting by fractions.
mick
Reply With Quote
  #8 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 24, 2004, 04:45pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Posts: 2,220
So she gets the same kind of ten count she would have gotten anyway
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:27pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1