The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #9 (permalink)  
Old Mon Jan 26, 2004, 02:51pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,263
Quote:
Originally posted by mcdanrd
I disagree with the majority in this case. Often times in the double bonus a player will grab the rebound after the first shot and start play. The ball is still dead. You line them up for the second throw in this case. I don't care what the official said, It is a 2 throw situation. I would blow the whistle and line 'em up for the second throw.
Then you'd be wrong.

Rule 2-10-6:
If an error is corrected, play shall be resumed from the point at which it was interrupted to rectify the error, unless it involves awarding a merited free throw(s) and there has been no change of team possession since the error was made, in which case play shall resume as after any free-throw attempt(s).


What this clearly says is that you always go to the POI except in one case: A1 is due another FT (or FTs) and only A has had possession....in which case you line up for the FTs and continue as if nothing was unusual.

The reason to go with the POI is that B earned a legitimate rebound or steal.

If B had got the rebound then A stole it back, you'd still put A1 on the line with no one on and resume with possession to A.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:46am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1