I apologize if this has been addressed before.
In NFHS Rule 7-6-2 The thrower shall not leave the designated throw-in spot until the ball has been released on a throw-in pass.
In NFHS Case 7-6-2 RULING: It is permissible for the thrower to move backward or forward within the 3-foot-wide designated area without violating and he/she may move laterally if at least one foot is kept on or over the designated area until the ball is released. COMMENT: Pivot-foot restrictions and the traveling rule are not in effect for a throw-in. The thrower must keep one foot on or over the spot until the ball is released.
Just being newly licensed and yet to officiate any games, I would like to be able to understand this rule just a little bit better. I have seen some officials call the movement as a traveling call, and then I have seen some officials let them move around quite a bit with no call. What I'm most confused about is the 3 foot area, is the 3 foot area considered the entire designated spot?
|