The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2000, 04:14pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Posts: 21
Unhappy

I'm reading a case situation from the NCAA website that reads: After a field goal by B-1, with two minutes left to play, player B-2 reaches through the end line and slaps the ball from the hands of A-1. The official assesses an indirect technical foul for delay of game against B-2. Prior to the administration of the penalty for the indirect technical foul, A-1 taunts and baits B-2. Player A-1 is assessed a direct technical foul for his act.

I was reading the 99 NCAA rule book and the case book reads that reaching through the plane to slap the ball away from a thrower in is not a delay of game penalty, but rather a intentional technical foul, which would be two shots , not one.
Help on this one, please. What should we do in this situation? I see false double, but the question is whether to give Team A one shot or two shots. I originally thought 2 shots but the NCAA website says one. Just wanted some feedback!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1