The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Nov 16, 1999, 05:00pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: In the offseason.
Posts: 12,264
Post

quote:
Originally posted by Joel Poli on 11-16-1999 03:31 PM
Since the ball still had frontcourt status wouldn't the catching by A1 cause A1 to be the last to touch the ball in the frontcourt and the first to touch the ball in the backcourt? I still think it is a backcourt violation.


No. Because A1 was not in the frontcourt. If you look more closely at the wording of the rule it may become more clear:

"A player shall not be the first to touch a ball which is in team control after it has been in the frontcourt, if he or she or a teammate last touched or was touched by the ball in the frontcourt before it went to the backcourt."

Given the emphasis that I have added, it should be clear the items have a specific order. A player or team can not be considered to be the last to touch in the frontcourt and the first to touch in the backcourt on the same contact.



[This message has been edited by Camron Rust (edited November 16, 1999).]
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1