![]() |
|
|
|
|||
|
Looking at all the findings, here is what I believe to be the right call:
The question reads: A-1 in his frontcourt and closely guarded by B-1, attempts a pass to his teammate near the division line. A-1's pass is deflected by B-1 and takes a high bounce toward the backcourt. A-2 runs into the backcourt and catches the ball before it strikes the floor in the backcourt. Official rules this a backcourt violation. Is the official correct? Yes. Team A never lost team control of the ball, and therefore would be assessed a backcourt violation. Given the same scenario above, here is my definition of team control: When B-1 deflects the ball, it is correct to say that Team A maintains team control UNTIL the ball falls into the backcourt. I believe that team control is lost when a deflection by B-1 causes A-1 to return to the backcourt to recover it. once recovered by A-1, then Team A REGAINS Team Control and at that time, a new 10-second count will begin. I officiate Indiana High School Basketball (a crazy high school basketball world to say the least), and I have seen this scenario happen on more than one occasion and I have ALWAYS began my count when Team A regains posession. But I could be wrong, that's why I am here. What do you all think? ============================= Zachary "Chunk" McCrite Indiana High School Officials |
![]() |
| Bookmarks |
|
|