The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 20, 2004, 11:35am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 194
A friend had this happen last night:
The ball was put in bounds with .01 of a second on the clock left in the first half. Of course, only a tap could count as a basket. However, the officials did not realize the amount of time on the clock, and counted a made three-pointer because it was shot before the horn sounded. I know that there were some mistakes here that could've been avoided, but here's the question: At the end of the halftime break, the opposing coach protested that the shot should not have counted. After talking to the time keeper, the officials realized the mistake. Could it have been corrected before the second half started? I would think so because the ball had not been put back live, but cannot find anything specific in the NFHS rulebook. Thanks for the forum... Call 'em like you see 'em!
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:25pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1