View Single Post
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Jan 20, 2004, 11:35am
cardinalfan cardinalfan is offline
Official Forum Member
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 194
A friend had this happen last night:
The ball was put in bounds with .01 of a second on the clock left in the first half. Of course, only a tap could count as a basket. However, the officials did not realize the amount of time on the clock, and counted a made three-pointer because it was shot before the horn sounded. I know that there were some mistakes here that could've been avoided, but here's the question: At the end of the halftime break, the opposing coach protested that the shot should not have counted. After talking to the time keeper, the officials realized the mistake. Could it have been corrected before the second half started? I would think so because the ball had not been put back live, but cannot find anything specific in the NFHS rulebook. Thanks for the forum... Call 'em like you see 'em!
Reply With Quote