The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Old Fri Jan 16, 2004, 09:36am
Official Forum Member

No, this isn't about the flu.

I've never really officiated basketball before this past week. I'm not going to count the two games I did about 8 years ago they were in a 2nd and 3rd grade league, I was a traffic cop.

It all started the other night when I worked a rec league scrimmage as a favor to a friend, he expected me to have a tough time with it, apparently I didn't because he and the other coach who didn't know it was my first game said I was excellent. I have 12 years experience as a baseball/softball umpire so I know when I had a bad game and I felt good about the experience. My friend's also a basketball ref so I trust him more than just a coach.

Mid way through the game he looked at me and said he saw a transformation in me from someone having nothing but fun and fumbling through the game to someone who was serious and determined. He was right, it was a thrill and I got hooked.

Since then I've called a 4th and 5th grade game with him and felt more comfortable, I'm reading rulebooks and mechanics books and anything I can find.

This weekend I'm slated to do at least 5 games of various ages. Mostly 5 and 6 graders but probably one middle school league.

I just got off the phone with the assignor for the 5-6 grade league and he assigned me 4 games a week. Looks like I'm doing 25+ games this year and I can hardly wait.

I'm sure I'll have questions here. I know most focus on school ball but I hope you'll indulge my rec league questions. The leagues are based on NF/NCAA rules though.

Alex
Old Fri Jan 16, 2004, 09:48am
Official Forum Member

Welcome to the board...you're in for the ride of your life.

Both here and in your newfound advocation.
Good Luck!

RD
P.S.
Blow the whistle hard
Dress in the appropriate uniform
Don't bend over while looking for a violation, etc.
Use crisp mechanics