The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Jan 10, 2004, 06:13pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Usa
Posts: 943
Question

Just returned from a game officiated capably by the Pres of a local association.
L is administering first shot of 1+1, ball is in the air toward shooter, having just left L's hand. A2 quickly pulls out of 3rd marked lane spot and retreats behind 3 pt arc above FT line. T calls lane violation.
T responded to my query by telling me that the interpretation provided to him by VHSL, (State HS governing body) is that the ball is "at the disposal" as soon as it leaves L's hand. I have a hard time realizing there is any other possible interpretation for "at the disposal" as lucidly defined in NFHS rules book...4-4-7b

SECTION 4 BALL LOCATION, AT DISPOSAL

ART. 7 . . . A ball is at the disposal of a player when it is:

b. Caught by a player after it is bounced to him/her.

Any of you gentlemen have a similarly screwy interp on this definition???
Is this strictly a local aberration that we have to abide by?


Thanks for your replies

[Edited by justacoach on Jan 10th, 2004 at 09:10 PM]
__________________
Prettys Womans in your city
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:00pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1