![]() |
|
|
|||
A few interesting (to me, anyway) NCAAM interps relating to discussions on this (and other) boards over the past several weeks:
1) Intentional fouls. There has been definite improvement by officials in calling intentional fouls for excessive contact by a defender who is playing the man or the ball. There has been little improvement in calling intentional fouls near the end of the game when a defender blatantly does not play the ball but simply grabs or pushes an opponent with or without the ball. While most strategic fouls near the end of the game can be categorized as common fouls, officials must call intentional fouls when it is obvious that a defender absolutely makes no attempt to play his opponent legitimately. 2) Last second shots. There has been no change in rule or procedure concerning a successful try for goal near the expiration of the game clock at the end of the half or at the end of the game. The official responsible for determining the status of the last second shot must make a call that either allows or disallows the goal. Then the officials, by rule, must review the play on a television monitor if such equipment is available in order to ascertain whether a correct call has been made by the responsible official. The officials and game management must instruct the coaches and players to remain at their respective benches and, if necessary, clear the floor of spectators while the play is reviewed by the officials. The coaches are not participants in the review. Once the officials decide they have the information they need, the referee will then inform the coaches whether the original call stands or whether the call is changed. 3) Injured Player; Bleeding Player/Blood on Body; Blood Saturated Uniform. When a timeout is granted for (a) injured player (b) bleeding player/blood on body (c)blood saturated uniform, and after the final horn that indicates the expiration of that timeout, the following are in effect: a. The player shall be permitted to resume play only when his team was granted the timeout. b. Either player shall be permitted to resume play if opponents incur any of the above conditions at the same time and either team requested and was granted a time out. c. An immediate substitution shall be required if the player is not ready to resume play. The opponents shall be permitted to counter with a substitution. 4) Rulebook Clarification Rule 9-11.6. In accordance with Rule 9-11.6, a player shall be permitted to be the first to secure control of the ball after a jump ball or throw-in while both feet are off the playing court and the player lands with one or both feet in the backcourt. In such a case, the player has not caused the ball to go into the backcourt. However, if that player does anything other than what is permitted by Rule 9-11.6, that player has caused the ball to go into the backcourt when either he or a teammate are the first to touch the ball (Interpretation: NCAA memorandum, December 10, 2003, page 8). Example: Player throws a pass which is first touched by a teammate in the backcourt. (edited to add the correct point #2) [Edited by bob jenkins on Jan 8th, 2004 at 11:15 AM] |
Bookmarks |
|
|