The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   touching ball after save (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/11428-touching-ball-after-save.html)

Bart Tyson Tue Dec 30, 2003 12:14am

BBR, I don't think this is double dribble. She never had control until she comes back inbounds.

BktBallRef Tue Dec 30, 2003 12:19am

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
BBR, I don't think this is double dribble. She never had control until she comes back inbounds.
He asked "could" it be a double dribble. It wouldn't automatically be a double dribble but yes, it could be. The official would have to make a judgment, whether the player controlled the ball or not.

Bart Tyson Tue Dec 30, 2003 12:29am

BBR, if she controled the ball before touching oob, then starts the dribble by throwing the ball inbounds, then why wouldn't it be a violation when she touches the ball inbounds? I just don't see this as a start of a dribble.

BktBallRef Tue Dec 30, 2003 01:13am

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
BBR, if she controled the ball before touching oob, then starts the dribble by throwing the ball inbounds, then why wouldn't it be a violation when she touches the ball inbounds?
Because it's an interrupted dribble. There is no player control during an interrupted dribble, so stepping OOB is not a violation.

Mregor Tue Dec 30, 2003 07:42am

Re: Re: Too much Football
 
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Mregor
Someone is watching too much football (as if that was possible :) ).
Actually, that's a myth too, at least under NFHS football rules.

There's no rule that says a player can't be the first player to touch a ball after coming from OOB. In fact, a football player does not even have to touch inbounds to be considered inbounds. If he's not touching OOB, he's inbounds. "You are where you were until you get where you're going" does not apply.

Let me re-phrase that. Someone is watching too much football on Sundays. I too officiate football (wing) and have to hear coaches complaints about he was OOB and first to touch.

Mregor

Bart Tyson Tue Dec 30, 2003 09:33am

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
BBR, if she controled the ball before touching oob, then starts the dribble by throwing the ball inbounds, then why wouldn't it be a violation when she touches the ball inbounds?
Because it's an interrupted dribble. There is no player control during an interrupted dribble, so stepping OOB is not a violation.

Start a dribble, then you say its an interupted drible. You can't have control, start dribble and say the start is interupted. If she gain control, starts the dribble then your are saying she knew what she was doing with the ball.

Now I'm assuming she was not dribbling prior to saving the ball.

rainmaker Tue Dec 30, 2003 09:57am

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
BBR, if she controled the ball before touching oob, then starts the dribble by throwing the ball inbounds, then why wouldn't it be a violation when she touches the ball inbounds?
Because it's an interrupted dribble. There is no player control during an interrupted dribble, so stepping OOB is not a violation.

Start a dribble, then you say its an interupted drible. You can't have control, start dribble and say the start is interupted. If she gain control, starts the dribble then your are saying she knew what she was doing with the ball.

Now I'm assuming she was not dribbling prior to saving the ball.

Bart, what he's saying is that the save COULD be the start of a dribble. If the player just sort of bats at it, and it happens to go back inbounds, it's probably not. But if there's enough contact for enough time that it could be called control is would be considered the beginning of a dribble. Player now has dribble interrupted by the fact that she is falling OOB, so she doesn't touch the ball again until she is re-established inbounds. She may then continue a dribble, or catch and pass or shoot, but she can't catch and then dribble.

Bart Tyson Tue Dec 30, 2003 10:50am

OK, I know what you are saying. I guessssss one could rule this play the wey you described it.

Rich Tue Dec 30, 2003 11:08am

Re: Re: Re: Too much Football
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Mregor
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Mregor
Someone is watching too much football (as if that was possible :) ).
Actually, that's a myth too, at least under NFHS football rules.

There's no rule that says a player can't be the first player to touch a ball after coming from OOB. In fact, a football player does not even have to touch inbounds to be considered inbounds. If he's not touching OOB, he's inbounds. "You are where you were until you get where you're going" does not apply.

Let me re-phrase that. Someone is watching too much football on Sundays. I too officiate football (wing) and have to hear coaches complaints about he was OOB and first to touch.

Mregor

That'll teach you to work in the middle of the field :)

Rich

BktBallRef Tue Dec 30, 2003 11:38am

Re: Re: Re: Re: Too much Football
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
Quote:

Originally posted by Mregor
Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Mregor
Someone is watching too much football (as if that was possible :) ).
Actually, that's a myth too, at least under NFHS football rules.

There's no rule that says a player can't be the first player to touch a ball after coming from OOB. In fact, a football player does not even have to touch inbounds to be considered inbounds. If he's not touching OOB, he's inbounds. "You are where you were until you get where you're going" does not apply.

Let me re-phrase that. Someone is watching too much football on Sundays. I too officiate football (wing) and have to hear coaches complaints about he was OOB and first to touch.

Mregor

That'll teach you to work in the middle of the field :)

Rich

The middle of the field is reserved for the guy with the pocket full of minature Snickers. :)

BktBallRef Tue Dec 30, 2003 11:39am

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
OK, I know what you are saying. I guessssss one could rule this play the wey you described it.
Thank you, rainmaker. I wasn't getting through. ;)

Bart Tyson Tue Dec 30, 2003 12:14pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
OK, I know what you are saying. I guessssss one could rule this play the wey you described it.
Thank you, rainmaker. I wasn't getting through. ;)

No, you were getting through, I'm just don't like getting close to the light side.

Ron Pilo Tue Dec 30, 2003 01:23pm

Ron,
I really hate when "Experienced" officials make calls like this. The same when a player who doesn't have control of the ball gets called for traveling. I think we should cover this at our next meeting.

Jurassic Referee Tue Dec 30, 2003 01:34pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Bart Tyson
[/B]
I'm just don't like getting close to the light side.
[/B][/QUOTE]
http://www.sodamnfunny.com/Cartoon/Gif/swdeath.gif

rainmaker Wed Dec 31, 2003 11:40am

Quote:

Originally posted by Ron Pilo
Ron,
I really hate when "Experienced" officials make calls like this. The same when a player who doesn't have control of the ball gets called for traveling. I think we should cover this at our next meeting.

This brings a new idea to mind -- maybe we should start a thread on things our experienced and veteran partners have done that were wrong. It would help the assignors and rules interpreters who read this board to see what needs work. Jurassic for one, needs to spend more time training his underlings, and less time cruising the internet for trashy graphics. Sheez, this last one is just plain... nevermind.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1