The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Sat Dec 27, 2003, 01:48pm
In Memoriam
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Hell
Posts: 20,211
Quote:
Originally posted by ronny mulkey

The play would become A1 pivots to the basket and contact occurs between A1 and B1, before the release, 2 whistles go off and A1 continues his shot and scores. One official calls charging and one official calls blocking. Double foul, right? What do you do with the basket?

It can't be a double foul, under FED rules. A player control foul is defined as a common foul(R4-19-6), and R4-19-2 says that a common foul CAN'T be part of a double foul. The officials have to decide which foul occured first, and then administer that foul only.This is similar to casebook play 2.6SitA&B, and is governed by the same language- The officials must decide definitely which act occured first. There is no rules coverage to administer the acts as occurring simultaneously".

If you decide A1's foul occurred first, it's just a PC foul. If you decide B1's foul occurred first, count the basket and give A1 one FT.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:15am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1