The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rating: Thread Rating: 3 votes, 5.00 average. Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #38 (permalink)  
Old Mon Dec 04, 2000, 06:02pm
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Posts: 6
Exclamation

The main factor of this is what caused the contact. In this scenario, Rutledge has given us the kewy - the arm of A1 keeping the defender away from the play. Therefore, logic provides that it is an offensive foul and B should get the ball. In the NCAA tournament game referred to, the play was with two bodies hitting each other simulatneoulsy and without an arm or any other body part to delineate the point of contact. Here, it is clearly the arm which causes the contact.

The good news is that Rutledge did not let that type of foul go unpunished. Secondly, whomever is the R in this situation must step up and decide the outcome. Then, after the game, the two officials should review the tape and talk through the event.

Thanks Rut, for the interesting scenario.
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:14pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1