![]() |
Friday night I was working a game when my partner and I had a situation arise. We didn't administer it right by the book, but we still got through it and satisfied both coaches. I know now after getting home and reading the book on how to properly administer this if it happens again. Here's the scenario:
Team A has the ball and is dribbling up the floor, while being pressed by Team B. Player from Team A sets an illegal screen, and is called for the foul. Same player from Team A, then in turn is hit for a Technical foul due to his language directed towards referee. Team B player secures the ball and is asked "three" times by the other referee to hand him the ball. Ignoring the referee, he then drives to the basket and shoots a lay-up. Player from Team B is then hit with a Technical foul for delaying the game. Please give feed back as to what you would have, and how you would have administered these three fouls? |
Is team B in the bonus? If so, the B player shoots his FTs with no one on the lane.
B then shoots the FTs for the T against A. A then shoots the FTs for the T against B. A gets the ball at the division line, opposite the table. BTW, these are not simultaneous technical fouls. |
Quote:
|
I'm surprised this didn't end up on this years Part II test!
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
The second foul made it a false double foul, the third foul made it a false multiple foul. So both types of "false" fouls occured in this play. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
Personal foul on A. Technical foul on A. (False multiple foul) Technical foul on B. (False double foul) |
Like a double negative makes proof positive, do two falses make a truth?
Can someone make a truth table for all these weird fouls? I love the way we administer penalties for fouls in the order that they happened. |
Quote:
Me bad, I was reading the dang post backwards. MTD, Sr. |
Quote:
|
Quote:
|
Quote:
Question??? Some officials(maybe from Ohio) might also notice, that in addition to delaying the game, the player also committed the dastardly deed of shooting a lay-up. Rule 2-7-4 specifically bans practising during a dead ball,except between halves. My questions are(1)would anybody call this? and (2)if you did,what is the penalty? |
Quote:
Now what just a minute! The only logical foul in this situation is a technical foul charged directly to B1 for unsportsmanlike conduct. That is the description that best fits this crime. |
Quote:
Now what just a minute! The only logical foul in this situation is a technical foul charged directly to B1 for unsportsmanlike conduct. That is the description that best fits this crime. [/B][/QUOTE]Agree, Mark. I just posting a what-if.I wanted to know if anybody would make a practising-during-a-dead-ball call in addition to the player T, and also what is the penalty for the illegal practising if it is called. Actually, I asked because this reminded me of a call that you said that you once made. To wit, the one where a player jumped off a teammate's back and then dunked the ball. I believe that your call was a T for climbing on or lifting a teammate, followed by another T for dunking a dead ball. The play above is somewhat similar. |
All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:56am. |