The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Time To Stir the Pot!! (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/11260-time-stir-pot.html)

BktBallRef Tue Dec 16, 2003 06:13pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Back In The Saddle
Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref


Looks like Tony's hittin' the holiday punch a little early this year.

I secretly suspect that Tony is like this much of the time ;)

Actually, I don't touch the stuff at all.

Jesse James Tue Dec 16, 2003 11:29pm

Pardon my ignorance, but when I last officiated (years ago), things were obviously different. If A1 has the ball out of bounds (after a made bucket) and passes to A2, who is also out of bounds, is it now legal for B to reach through the plane and intercept that pass?

bob jenkins Wed Dec 17, 2003 08:25am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jesse James
Pardon my ignorance, but when I last officiated (years ago), things were obviously different. If A1 has the ball out of bounds (after a made bucket) and passes to A2, who is also out of bounds, is it now legal for B to reach through the plane and intercept that pass?
No. That's not the play being discussed in this thread.

Mark Padgett Wed Dec 17, 2003 10:55am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark T. DeNucci, Sr.
Play (a):
NFHS: It is legal for B1 to touch the ball after A1 has released the ball for the throw-in and the ball is still on the out-of-bounds side of the boundary line. Out-of-bounds off of B1. Team A gets a designated spot throw-in closet to the spot where the ball touched out-of-bounds.

Ok, "other Mark", riddle me this. In this case, what would the ruling be if, after being touched by B1 before it breaks the plane, the ball does not hit OOB, but continues inbounds? Is this then just a no-call?

ChuckElias Wed Dec 17, 2003 11:38am

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
what would the ruling be if, after being touched by B1 before it breaks the plane, the ball does not hit OOB, but continues inbounds? Is this then just a no-call?
Yes. There's been no infraction. Play on.

ChuckElias Wed Dec 17, 2003 11:40am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jesse James
If A1 has the ball out of bounds (after a made bucket) and passes to A2, who is also out of bounds, is it now legal for B to reach through the plane and intercept that pass?
That's not legal, Jesse. As Bob pointed out, however, that's also not the play under discussion. We're not talking about a ball being passed between 2 or more teammates who are OOB. We're discussing a throw-in pass is thrown directly onto the court. In your case, it's a technical foul for the defender to touch the ball. In our case, it's perfectly legal.

Jesse James Wed Dec 17, 2003 11:47pm

....A1

........A2
______________________
...........A3

After a made bucket (I know this is a different play than previously discussed), A1 passes toward A2, who is out-of-bounds, and A3, who is inbounds. B intercepts while pass is still out of bounds. T or legal?

Jesse James Wed Dec 17, 2003 11:51pm

....A1

............A2
_____________________________
..................A3

After a made bucket (I know this is a different play than previously discussed), A1 passes toward A2, who is out-of-bounds, and A3, who is inbounds. B intercepts while pass is still out of bounds. T or legal?

BktBallRef Thu Dec 18, 2003 01:27am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jesse James
....A1

........A2
______________________
...........A3

After a made bucket (I know this is a different play than previously discussed), A1 passes toward A2, who is out-of-bounds, and A3, who is inbounds. B intercepts while pass is still out of bounds. T or legal?

Which pass?

A1 to A2? Technical foul.

A2 to A3? Legal.

Jesse James Thu Dec 18, 2003 08:41am

It's just one pass. A2 and A3 are in alignment with each other, A2 still out of bounds, A3 inbounds. It's like a cut-off play in baseball, you don't know if A2 is going to "cut-off" the pass, or let it proceed to A3. And you really don't know who's going to catch the pass if B intercepts the ball before it gets to A2.

bob jenkins Thu Dec 18, 2003 08:51am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jesse James
It's just one pass. A2 and A3 are in alignment with each other, A2 still out of bounds, A3 inbounds. It's like a cut-off play in baseball, you don't know if A2 is going to "cut-off" the pass, or let it proceed to A3. And you really don't know who's going to catch the pass if B intercepts the ball before it gets to A2.
1) The official must decide to whom the pass was being made.

2) How is B going to get to the ball in the play descirbed?

3) You've seen this play how often?


Ref Daddy Thu Dec 18, 2003 09:05am


I was tought - and do - give a warning for reaching over the line early in a game - as applicable.

T next

Others do this?

BktBallRef Thu Dec 18, 2003 09:47am

Quote:

Originally posted by Jesse James
It's just one pass. A2 and A3 are in alignment with each other, A2 still out of bounds, A3 inbounds. It's like a cut-off play in baseball, you don't know if A2 is going to "cut-off" the pass, or let it proceed to A3. And you really don't know who's going to catch the pass if B intercepts the ball before it gets to A2.
If A2 is OOB, in position to catch a pass, then B1 cannot touch that pass until it breaks the plane.

Ballen Thu Dec 18, 2003 10:45am

Quote:

I was tought - and do - give a warning for reaching over the line early in a game - as applicable.

T next

Others do this?
I do this and have occasionally wondered if I was guilty of "OOO".

To avoid this I've adopted a mechanic of raising and lowering my arm to indicate to B guarding the thrower that there is an invisible plane they must avoid crossing.

What do you all think?

BktBallRef Thu Dec 18, 2003 11:17am

Quote:

Originally posted by Ballen


I do this and have occasionally wondered if I was guilty of "OOO".


OOO? Over officitating ________?

I tell the thrower spot or run.

I tell the defender not to break the plane.

It's preventive officiating.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:54am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1