The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2003, 11:40am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 406
Play #1:
When A2 SECURES the rebound, he has gained player/team control so front court status has been established. The ball is thrown over A3's head into the backcourt, but it is not a backcourt violation until a Team A player touches the ball before a Team B player touches it.

Play #2:
The answer is YES in your examples.

Play #3:
A) If the ball already has F/C status (Team A dribbling/passing in it's F/C) then there will be a B/C violation if a Team A player touches the ball while he is in the B/C (and Player B hasn't touched it first). To be in the B/C Player A merely has to have his heel or toe
TOUCHING the division line (which is in the B/C). There is no requirement for both feet to be in B/C.

B) If the ball has NOT gained F/C status and Player A is dribbling the ball near the division line, he is still considered to have B/C status until both his feet and the ball have touched in the F/C. So he can dribble along the line with one foot in F/C and one foot in B/C and the ball in either court (for example), and he still has B/C status.
Once both feet and the ball have gone OVER the division line (not touching it) and touched the court he has gained F/C status. Then see A above.
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:59pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1