The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #5 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2003, 09:30am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: Mid-Hudson valley, New York
Posts: 751
Send a message via AIM to Lotto
I use NCAA women's rules (modified slightly for use in HS).

The situation of B1 reaching out-of-bounds and slapping the ball from A1's hands is explicitly covered (10-3.19, AR 9a) as is the case where B1 touches the ball being passed between out-of-bounds teammates after a score (7-6.5b AR 17 and 10-3.19 AR9b) as an indirect technical for delaying the game. Reaching through the plane is a violation (7-6.5b and 9-4.5). However, reaching through the plane and touching the ball after A1 has released the ball for a direct throw-in is not mentioned.

9-4.5 reads: The opponents of the thrower-in shall not have any part of their person beyond the vertical inside plane of any boundary line before the ball has crossed that boundary line.

I conclude from this that the situation I described can't be legal and is at least a violation. (NF rules may differ on this.)

Further comments, esp. from those who ref with NCAA rules? I'd like to know best how to deal with this...

[Edited by Lotto on Dec 9th, 2003 at 08:45 AM]
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46pm.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1