The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #3 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2003, 09:19am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 406
Why is this action left up to the discretion of a ref or his assignor? Rule 10-3 Art. 11 clearly states that it is a T if a player reaches through the throw-in boundary line plane and touches or dislodges the ball. It doesn't say that the ball must still be in the thrower's hands. A T is also merited if A1 OOB tosses to A2 OOB (after a goal by B) and B1 reaches across the line and touches ball in flight.

The Technical Foul Summary on page 76 again states that it is a player T for reaching through to touch or dislodge the ball. I have been taught this as a black and white situation. Are others finding this a gray area?
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:11am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1