The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball
Register FAQ Community Calendar Today's Posts Search

Reply
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
  #1 (permalink)  
Old Tue Dec 09, 2003, 09:31am
Official Forum Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Western Mass.
Posts: 9,105
Send a message via AIM to ChuckElias
I'm more aware of this particular nuance b/c I got it wrong on a test one year. It's kind of funny actually. If you look at the NCAA rules governing the shot clock, they fall under NCAA 2-13. Article 6 says that the shot clock operator shall stop the timing device and reset it (c) when any held ball occurs. There are a couple of exceptions, but the general rule is to reset on a held ball.

The biggest and most obvious exception is if there is team control and the defense causes the held ball, and the offense has the arrow. But that's an exception! The other exception is if the held ball occurs during a throw-in and the arrow favors the inbounding team.

So remember, the rule is that you always reset on a held ball -- unless there's team control, the defense causes the held ball, and the offense is getting it back.
__________________
Any NCAA rules and interpretations in this post are relevant for men's games only!
Reply With Quote
Reply

Bookmarks


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1