The Official Forum  

Go Back   The Official Forum > Basketball

 
 
LinkBack Thread Tools Rate Thread Display Modes
Prev Previous Post   Next Post Next
  #7 (permalink)  
Old Sun Dec 07, 2003, 06:11pm
Do not give a damn!!
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: On the border
Posts: 30,561
Exclamation That is not BI.

Quote:
Originally posted by sleebo
From what I understand a technical foul is to be assessed if a player intentionally strikes the backboard or signal while a try is in the air.

So, if a player commits BI while doing this, would that not be a reason to call BI and a Technical?

If these two calls were made, we would then count the basket (2 or 3 points) and then award the offended team 2 FT's and the ball at the division line, correct?
That would be great, but you cannot call a BI for slapping the backboard. Slapping the backboard has nothing to do with BI or GT for that matter.

The only way a T could be called, along with a BI, if a player grabs the rim and the ball is hit before the rim goes back to its original position. You could call a T for the hanging on the rim and the BI for the ball hitting the ball before returning to the rim's original position.

Peace
__________________
Let us get into "Good Trouble."
-----------------------------------------------------------
Charles Michael “Mick” Chambers (1947-2010)
Reply With Quote
 

Bookmarks

Thread Tools
Display Modes Rate This Thread
Rate This Thread:

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are On



All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:13am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1