The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   Nominations? (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/11051-nominations.html)

Mark Padgett Thu Dec 04, 2003 04:39pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
I heard a story about a veteran varsity official who did the following:

A timeout after a B goal. A comes back and is properly told that they can run the endline. A player passes it inbounds where it is deflected out of bounds by a B player. Official allows A to run the baseline again. Whoops.

Rich

Was the deflection by B1 a kick? Was the subsequent OOB spot still on the endline?

MN 3 Sport Ref Thu Dec 04, 2003 04:54pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
I heard a story about a veteran varsity official who did the following:

A timeout after a B goal. A comes back and is properly told that they can run the endline. A player passes it inbounds where it is deflected out of bounds by a B player. Official allows A to run the baseline again. Whoops.

Rich

Was the deflection by B1 a kick? Was the subsequent OOB spot still on the endline?

I see where you are going MARK:

If the subsequent throw in is on the end line then A IS ABLE TO run the endline again.FED 7-5-7.

This right is reatined after any violation (kick etc.) or a common foul (before bonus of course).

[Edited by MN 3 Sport Ref on Dec 4th, 2003 at 03:57 PM]

Camron Rust Thu Dec 04, 2003 05:27pm

Quote:

Originally posted by MN 3 Sport Ref
Quote:

Originally posted by Mark Padgett
Quote:

Originally posted by Rich Fronheiser
I heard a story about a veteran varsity official who did the following:

A timeout after a B goal. A comes back and is properly told that they can run the endline. A player passes it inbounds where it is deflected out of bounds by a B player. Official allows A to run the baseline again. Whoops.

Rich

Was the deflection by B1 a kick? Was the subsequent OOB spot still on the endline?

I see where you are going MARK:

If the subsequent throw in is on the end line then A IS ABLE TO run the endline again.FED 7-5-7.

This right is reatined after any violation (kick etc.) or a common foul (before bonus of course).

[Edited by MN 3 Sport Ref on Dec 4th, 2003 at 03:57 PM]

These rights are only retained if that violation or foul occurs before the ball is legally touched. If the ball is legally touched then the foul or violation occurs, it is a designated sport throw-in. There are only two violations that I can think of that can be committed by the defense that matter: kicking and elbows. Throw-in plane violations have always retained the right to run the endline.

Hawks Coach Thu Dec 04, 2003 06:40pm

To the original question. . .
 
Chuck
These are some things that I have seen happen and refs don't consistently call correctly.

1. The b/c where A1 passes in f/c, B1 taps toward b/c, A2 touches but does not control in f/c, then recovers in b/c. This is b/c, but often not called as a b/c violation, with the most common reason given that A wasn't in control when it went b/c.

2. The non-b/c where A1 on baseline inbounds to A2, ball is too high and A2 deflects into b/c and then recovers. This is often called a b/c violation, even though A never has team control due to throw-in.

3. Fumbling, stumbling catch - A1 on the move, receives pass but does not catch cleanly, takes three steps while bobbling ball, jump stops and grabs ball firmly - not a travel, but many think it is.

You could modify the situation to have the ball bobbled for a couple of steps, dropped (no control), the grabbed with two hands with both feet on floor, then a dribble is started - again no violation but you could prompt for DD or travel to see if there are any takers.

rainmaker Fri Dec 05, 2003 01:22am

Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
... it is a designated sport throw-in.
Don't we just assume that the designated sport is basketball? What are the other choices?

David B Fri Dec 05, 2003 02:03am

I had the same question
 
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by David B
Quote:

Originally posted by Snaqwells
Quote:

Originally posted by David B

We had a very unusual play the other night with a new coach. We're shooting FT's and he wants to conference his team but his opponents are shooting the FT's.
What should you do, what can you do etc.,

As long as he has two players on the blocks, the other three players are irrelevant.

No, he conferenced with his entire team. So we had a shot, a violation and then he was not ready still, so we had to give a T for delay.

First time, but the coach is young (should know better he's been as asst. coach in college for four years)

Thanks
David


Unless this was after a TO, you were incorrect.

You should have requested that he place two players in the lower spaces. If he refused, it's an immediate T for delay of game.

The violation for not filling the lower spots is part of the resumption-of-play procedure.


It was NOT part of a time out. If it was, then we could have used the resuming play.

I looked in the books for two days and could find nothing different or a way to handle the situation.

Like I said, I've never seen this before in my 10 years of calling.

But I was administering the FT, my partner told him coach we need two guys. He continued to conference, so I continued without him.

So, you're saying we should have given the T then?

The only thing I can find in the books is under Rule 9 and it says give the FT shooter a T if he delays coming to the line. But it says nothing about the two guys on the bottom blocks.

I don't have my book with me, but I did find in Rule 9 under violations (FT's) where it does say if a team continues to delay though give the T.

So I'm thinking administer, and they are then violating.

Then you give them a chance to get in place, and if they don't then give the T.

But I'm open to ideas.

Thanks
David


Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 05, 2003 02:32am

Re: I had the same question
 
Quote:

Originally posted by David B
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Unless this was after a TO, you were incorrect.

You should have requested that he place two players in the lower spaces. If he refused, it's an immediate T for delay of game.

The violation for not filling the lower spots is part of the resumption-of-play procedure.

[/B]
It was NOT part of a time out. If it was, then we could have used the resuming play.

I looked in the books for two days and could find nothing different or a way to handle the situation.

[/B][/QUOTE]Mr. Jenkins is correct. Read casebook play 10.1.5SitC(b). It's your exact play, and it calls for an immediate T upon refusal to fill the bottom 2 spaces.

bob jenkins Fri Dec 05, 2003 08:27am

Re: Re: I had the same question
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Mr. Jenkins is correct.
I didn't even know my dad posted on this forum. ;)


Adam Fri Dec 05, 2003 08:44am

Re: To the original question. . .
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Hawks Coach

2. The non-b/c where A1 on baseline inbounds to A2, ball is too high and A2 deflects into b/c and then recovers. This is often called a b/c violation, even though A never has team control due to throw-in.

Yeah, I kicked this one in a soph game the other night.
Sorry, coach.

David B Fri Dec 05, 2003 09:44am

Thanks guys
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by David B
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Unless this was after a TO, you were incorrect.

You should have requested that he place two players in the lower spaces. If he refused, it's an immediate T for delay of game.

The violation for not filling the lower spots is part of the resumption-of-play procedure.

It was NOT part of a time out. If it was, then we could have used the resuming play.

I looked in the books for two days and could find nothing different or a way to handle the situation.

[/B]
Mr. Jenkins is correct. Read casebook play 10.1.5SitC(b). It's your exact play, and it calls for an immediate T upon refusal to fill the bottom 2 spaces. [/B][/QUOTE]

thanks for the help. Now in 10 years when I have it happen again I'll know the correct ruling. (g)

That's why I like this forum, I can be educated a little more every day.

Thanks
David

A Pennsylvania Coach Fri Dec 05, 2003 09:58am

Quote:

Originally posted by Viking32
On the floor 20 minutes before game, standing at half court. Look over to the visiting team and the assistant coach is doing layups with the team. Is this legal? What if he dunks?
What were you doing on the floor 20 minutes before the game?

Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 05, 2003 10:21am

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Mr. Jenkins is correct.
I didn't even know my dad posted on this forum. ;)


I was in a kindlier, gentler mood. They usually come on me in the middle of the night, and last for..oh..about 7 minutes. When I wake up in the morning and read what I wrote(written? wroth?), I usually can't look at myself in a mirror.

That's what happened in this case. :D

Dan_ref Fri Dec 05, 2003 02:38pm

Quote:

Originally posted by A Pennsylvania Coach
Quote:

Originally posted by Viking32
On the floor 20 minutes before game, standing at half court. Look over to the visiting team and the assistant coach is doing layups with the team. Is this legal? What if he dunks?
What were you doing on the floor 20 minutes before the game?

ncaa maybe?

Dan_ref Fri Dec 05, 2003 02:40pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by Jurassic Referee
Mr. Jenkins is correct.
I didn't even know my dad posted on this forum. ;)


I was in a kindlier, gentler mood. They usually come on me in the middle of the night, and last for..oh..about 7 minutes.

Kinda like...uhmmm...well...you know....


Jurassic Referee Fri Dec 05, 2003 04:15pm

Quote:

Originally posted by Dan_ref
[/B]
I was in a kindlier, gentler mood. They usually come on me in the middle of the night, and last for..oh..about 7 minutes.
[/B][/QUOTE]

Kinda like...uhmmm...well...you know....

[/B][/QUOTE]My motto is "Waste not,want not". :D


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:48am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1