The Official Forum

The Official Forum (https://forum.officiating.com/)
-   Basketball (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/)
-   -   carry/illegal dribble (https://forum.officiating.com/basketball/11002-carry-illegal-dribble.html)

Camron Rust Wed Dec 03, 2003 04:35pm

Quote:

Originally posted by bob jenkins
Quote:

Originally posted by sleebo
It would seem to me that if the ball comes to rest on the body (in a hand, against the stomach, knee, hip, etc.) and the dribbler then puts the ball on the floor for another dribble, you have illegal ("double") dribble.
Reference (for other than "in a hand"), please.


I think this is more a spirit of the rules thing.

For example, A1, who has been dribbling, pins the ball between his elbows, between an arm and hip, etc. The book doesn't say this ends the dribble. In fact, the player, by the written rule, could hold it that way indefinitely (ignoring counts and expiration time) and legally resume dribbling since only the hands are mentioned in ending a dribble.

In reality, I think every single one of us would call an illegal dribble if such a thing occured since we know that such a play is not what was intended.

In nearly every case, however, a hand will be involved.

BktBallRef Wed Dec 03, 2003 06:12pm

Quote:

Originally posted by sleebo
It would seem to me that if the ball comes to rest on the body (in a hand, against the stomach, knee, hip, etc.) and the dribbler then puts the ball on the floor for another dribble, you have illegal ("double") dribble.
The ball can't come to rest "against the stomach, knee, hip, etc." unless the hand is also against the ball. Therefore, if it comes to rest in the player's hand, the dribble has ended. So, the "other" body part is of non consequence.

If the ball comes to rest and the hand is touching it, the dribble has ended.

Camron Rust Wed Dec 03, 2003 07:23pm

Quote:

Originally posted by BktBallRef
Quote:

Originally posted by sleebo
It would seem to me that if the ball comes to rest on the body (in a hand, against the stomach, knee, hip, etc.) and the dribbler then puts the ball on the floor for another dribble, you have illegal ("double") dribble.
The ball can't come to rest "against the stomach, knee, hip, etc." unless the hand is also against the ball. Therefore, if it comes to rest in the player's hand, the dribble has ended. So, the "other" body part is of non consequence.

If the ball comes to rest and the hand is touching it, the dribble has ended.

I can think of several body parts between which you can pin the ball without a hand touching it (one example in my previous post). It could be beteeen the legs (but above the knees), or between an elbow and hip, forearm and ... you get the picture.


BktBallRef Wed Dec 03, 2003 07:41pm

Get over the semantics.
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Camron Rust
In nearly every case, however, a hand will be involved.

We're saying the same thing.

Larry Thu Dec 04, 2003 04:58am

carry/illegal dribble
 
Quote:

Originally posted by zebracz
The other thing that I see quite often which has not been mentioned in this thread is when the dribbler pins the ball briefly against his/her hip, then releases it and continues to dribble. This is a double dribble. Am I right, Chuck?

that was what my 1st Q was gonna be: I would have a carry, but it is a travel....so which is it?

What about if a player bats the ball with the left hand, and then the right hand before it hits the floor? Isn't that illegal?

This is an illegal dribble. The only ONE prob I see w/ this one is --is the player dribbling or did hejust grab/receive the pass? I mean, he could be in-stride, catch the pass in his left and bring both hands together and it ends up in his right hand before he dribbles. Now, who's gonna call that if he's running full sprint (or a little less) down the court? lol Unless the bat is intentional, right? How about not a bat, but a pass? that would be illegal dribble, right? But then, what if he's not running, but, rather standing and he the grabs pass w/ his left, puts in right and then dribbles; OR if he grabs pass w/ left, and passes to his right hand, to then dribble? Nothing if he's running, right?

What about if he's walking..nothing? It prob'ly really is elligal dribbling but........ what do ya'll do?

there can only be one "bat" per floor-bounce. Am I incorrect about this?

Rainmkr, I don't know about this, becuz look at how Dennis Rodman rebounded (but we are talking NFHS, too, tho), but I agree w/ Elias & JR--the dribble hasn't ended. The body is fair game, even though it "Looks funny, something wrong, call it" like Larry says. It may seem you get in trouble for NOT calling the "look-funny" ones, but I believe this is part of what seperates "good" from "best" official--that is, knowing when NOT to call 'em.

BTW, Larry, I like that tip: "did the panels stop spinning?" I'd never looked @ it that. I'll hafta try it. Thx.

goodluck ya'll...

Zebracz, I wish I knew the rules and could quote them like you guys; But, on friday night during live action, if I see something and don't know what it is, I got nothing! My mind goes on auto, and its strictly Advanage / Disadvanage.

Larry Thu Dec 04, 2003 05:06am

Re: carry/illegal dribble
 
Quote:

Originally posted by Larry
Quote:

Originally posted by zebracz
The other thing that I see quite often which has not been mentioned in this thread is when the dribbler pins the ball briefly against his/her hip, then releases it and continues to dribble. This is a double dribble. Am I right, Chuck?

that was what my 1st Q was gonna be: I would have a carry, but it is a travel....so which is it?

What about if a player bats the ball with the left hand, and then the right hand before it hits the floor? Isn't that illegal?

This is an illegal dribble. The only ONE prob I see w/ this one is --is the player dribbling or did hejust grab/receive the pass? I mean, he could be in-stride, catch the pass in his left and bring both hands together and it ends up in his right hand before he dribbles. Now, who's gonna call that if he's running full sprint (or a little less) down the court? lol Unless the bat is intentional, right? How about not a bat, but a pass? that would be illegal dribble, right? But then, what if he's not running, but, rather standing and he the grabs pass w/ his left, puts in right and then dribbles; OR if he grabs pass w/ left, and passes to his right hand, to then dribble? Nothing if he's running, right?

What about if he's walking..nothing? It prob'ly really is elligal dribbling but........ what do ya'll do?

there can only be one "bat" per floor-bounce. Am I incorrect about this?

Rainmkr, I don't know about this, becuz look at how Dennis Rodman rebounded (but we are talking NFHS, too, tho), but I agree w/ Elias & JR--the dribble hasn't ended. The body is fair game, even though it "Looks funny, something wrong, call it" like Larry says. It may seem you get in trouble for NOT calling the "look-funny" ones, but I believe this is part of what seperates "good" from "best" official--that is, knowing when NOT to call 'em.

BTW, Larry, I like that tip: "did the panels stop spinning?" I'd never looked @ it that. I'll hafta try it. Thx.

goodluck ya'll...

Zebracz, I wish I knew the rules and could quote them like you guys; But, on friday night during live action, if I see something and don't know what it is, I got nothing! My mind goes on auto, and its strictly Advanage / Disadvanage.

Several years ago during a game, the head coach yelled, "He's carrying the ball." I responsed, " Why you say that?" Till this day, he has never asked me another question?

IAABO_Ref Thu Dec 04, 2003 08:57am

Well I just got something from the board. So now lets say the play happens but A1 has dribbled the ball prior to his attempted pass as soon as A1 touches the ball that would be called an illegal dribble right?

ChuckElias Thu Dec 04, 2003 09:08am

Quote:

Originally posted by IAABO_Ref
Well I just got something from the board. So now lets say the play happens but A1 has dribbled the ball prior to his attempted pass as soon as A1 touches the ball that would be called an illegal dribble right?
Assuming that you are talking about the long bounce pass that A1 recovers himself, then yes, you are right.


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:04am.



Search Engine Friendly URLs by vBSEO 3.3.0 RC1